MacKenzie Beats O'Blenis to win Firecracker 150

MacKenzie Beats O'Blenis to win Firecracker 150

Written by  on Monday, 20 August 2012 14:03

FREDERICTON, NB - Ken MacKenzie won the Martin's Home Heating Firecracker 150 at Speedway 660 on Saturday night. MacKenzie passed his friend Dave O'Blenis to win the three thousand dollar first place prize
money in one of Atlantic Canada's biggest Sportsman races of the season.

"We finally won one of these things," said a jubilant MacKenzie in the Speedway 660 Victory Lane. "We won two Sportsman championships but never have been able to win one of these big races until tonight and it is was
especially sweet to finally beat my good friend Dave O'Blenis."

O'Blenis led the race at the half-way point and looked unbeatable until MacKenzie powered his way to the front of the field late in the race. Both MacKenzie and OBlenis pulled double duty on Saturday night, competing in Sportsman and Pro Stock. Brent Roy, the Camry Kid, finished third in the Firecracker 150. Randy Moore, George Jamieson and Byron Bartlett won the qualifying heat races.

O'Blenis had a great night at Speedway 660. In addition to a second place finish in the Firecracker 150, he won the A.L. Gullison Disaster Kleenup Pro Stock main event. The win gives O'Blenis a firm grip on the points lead heading into the Night of Champions next Saturday night.
Greg Fahey finished second in the feature, followed by Jordan Gahan who got his first ever podium finish. Gahan won both the Pro Stock heat and dash to go with his third place feature finish.

Peter Martin took the checkered flag in the RV World Street Stock feature. It was the first feature win for the 17 year old Saint John driver. Rob Pethick was second and Josh Arbeau drove home third. Pethick and Martin also won the heat races, while Roger Slocum took the checkers in the dash.

Luc McLaughlin extended his point lead in the 4 cylinder division by winning his feature. Tyler Seveck finished second, while Daniel Clark took third. Christine Chittack and Justin Cole won the heat races.

Dawson McIntee was the top Hanwell Vllage Mart Bandolero driver of the night. He won the 15 lap Bando feature followed by Alicia Mowat and Cole Boudreau. Cole Ogden and Braden Langille won the heat races.

From Angela Coffey / Speedway 660

Last modified on Monday, 20 August 2012 14:12
back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries