Aikins Nipped At The Line For The Second Week In A Row

Aikins Nipped At The Line For The Second Week In A Row

Written by  on Monday, 20 August 2012 13:55

BROCKVILLE, ON - Dana Aikins is less than .01 seconds away from two straight feature wins in the Sportsman division at Brockville Ontario Speedway.  However, the Alexandria Bay driver is still looking for his first Beast of the East feature win in 2012 after being nipped at the finish line on the final lap by .004 seconds for the second straight week this time by Brockville's Dylan Evoy. It was the exact same margin Aikins fell to Chris Herbison by the week before.

Ryan Comeau dominated the early stages of the 25 lap Sportsman event before yielding the lead to Aikins.  Aikins was in good shape until Evoy started to close in and take the lead from him briefly.  Dana made a beautiful move on lap 24 using a lapped car as a pick to pull ahead by a couple of car lengths.  But Evoy charged from the very top of the speedway in turn 4 to pull back alongside and leave who actually won to the electronic scoring system because no one else could tell who came across the line first.  Doug O'Blenis was third in front of Chris Herbison and John Mills.
The 30 lap Modified main event went green to checkered. Brockville's Matt Billings had to try time after time to get past early leader Brian MacDonald as the two cars even bumped twice.  Billings finally grabbed the top spot and sped away to his second win of 2012 in the family owned Bicknell.  Danny O'Brien was on the charge from way back in the field from the start and settled for second followed by Kyle Dingwall, MacDonald and Lee Gill.
There was a brand new face in victory lane in the Rookie 15 lap main as Corbin Miller picked up his first feature win ever at Brockville.  The youngster led the entire distance holding off points leader Joe McNichols in the closing laps.  Bob Ray, Dwight Feltham and Chris Bakker, were third through fifth respectively.  Danny Mocibob used the Miller model in the Street Stock event,also leading every lap en route to the win despite a spirited battle with Brock Cullen.  Alex Gagnon, Kevin Fetterly Jr and Guy Regimbald rounded out the fast five. 

The race was red flagged on lap 3 when Barry Baker rolled hard in turn 1 after losing a wheel.  Baker was able to get out of the car under his own steam. Dave Wilgosh scored his first win since 2010 when he drove a Sportsman car, taking the 12 lap Vintage race also leading the distance.  Jason Powers late challenge wasnt enough as he finished second followed by Denzil Billings, Josh Powers and Paul Billings.

From- Steve Young BOS 

Last modified on Monday, 20 August 2012 14:00
back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries