2019 CTMP VARAC Vintage GP Race Wrap

2019 CTMP VARAC Vintage GP Race Wrap

Written by  Jerry Priddle on Sunday, 16 June 2019 19:25

BOWMANVILLE, ON (June 16, 2019) – When the time comes to celebrate future milestone anniversaries for Canadian Formula 1600 racing, we just might see Olivier Bedard’s name mentioned along with the other past greats who were on hand at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP) this weekend to mark the 50th anniversary of the open-wheel, single-seater class.

The young Montrealer swept all three Toyo Tires F1600 Championship Series races (for modern-era F1600s), held as part of the 40th anniversary Vintage Automobile Racing Association of Canada’s (VARAC) Vintage Grand Prix. Bedard is now a perfect nine for nine in 2019 Toyo Series action.

More than 300 beautifully restored race cars from the past 50-plus years of motorsports competed during the three-day weekend, ranging from MGs and Triumphs, to Volvos, Porsches, Corvettes and a variety of single-seater Formula cars, on CTMP’s world-famous Grand Prix circuit.

(VARAC Vintage GP race results can be found here: http://bit.ly/2RgzK4I)

Eight Canadian Formula 1600 driving greats from the Bulova Series era of the 1970s shared Grand Marshal duties this weekend: Danny Burritt, Luke De Sadeleer, Nigel Gough, Clive Rayman, John Scratch, Don Sobering, Brian Stewart and David White. Fred Wilkens, the man behind the legendary made-in-Canada Ferret F1600 brand, was the honourary starter.

Next up on Canadian Tire Motorsport Park’s major event schedule is the Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix, July 4-7, featuring the only Canadian stop for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. For more info or to buy tickets, visit online at canadiantiremotorsportpark.com, call the CTMP Hotline at 1-800-866-1072 (Monday to Friday from 9 am to 5 pm ET), or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


back to top