Lyons & Susice Claim SOS Labour Day Classic Wins At Brighton Photos by Rod Henderson/

Lyons & Susice Claim SOS Labour Day Classic Wins At Brighton

Written by  Tommy Goudge Communications on Wednesday, 05 September 2018 15:25

BRIGHTON, Ontario (September 2, 2018) - Ryan Susice and Steve Lyons took Southern Ontario Sprints feature wins during an action-packed 16th Annual Labour Day Classic Weekend at Brighton Speedway, while Cory Turner inched closer to his first SOS championship.

Saturday's feature race saw Tyler Rand take the early lead before Steve Lyons took over and claimed his first ever 360 Sprint Car feature win. Cory Turner moved up to take the runner-up spot, followed by his brother and fellow title contender Ryan Turner in third. Rick Wilson, Chris Jones, Shawn Sliter, Tyler Rand, Jamie Turner, Mike Thorne, and Holly Porter rounded out the top ten. Dylan Westbrook suffered mechanical problems which put his chances for a third consecutive SOS championship in jeopardy. Ryan Turner, Cory Turner, and Dylan Westbrook claimed heat race wins, while Mike Ferrell took the win in the "Dream Come True" Dash for Cash race.

Sunday's feature saw the podium swept by three drivers who weren't in action at Brighton the night before. Modified standout Ryan Susice took the $2,000 feature win over brothers Mitch and Jake Brown, while Dylan Westbrook charged from the seventh row to finish fourth. Ryan Turner, Cory Turner, Tyler Rand, Kyle Phillips, Chris Jones, and Holly Porter rounded out the top ten. Holly Porter, Jake Brown, and Cory Turner claimed heat race wins, while Steve Lyons won the Dash for Cash, and Holly Porter took the victory in the 12 lap Simon Petit Memorial Wingless Sprint Car Dash. Cory Turner now unofficially leads the SOS standings by 55 points over Ryan Turner heading into the championship finale, with Dylan Westbrook 106 points out of the lead.

The Southern Ontario Sprints donated the club's half of their 50/50 draw proceeds on both Saturday and Sunday to injured driver Tyler Hendricks and his family, while Mike Ferrell and April Wilson also donated their Dash for Cash race winnings. Please visit if you wish to contribute.

The SOS season championship will be decided this Saturday, September 8 when the tour heads to Merrittville Speedway for the final points-paying event of the season. Visit for additional information. The SOS will then head back to Ohsweken Speedway on Friday, September 14, and Saturday, September 15 as an affiliate sanction of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals for the 14th consecutive year. Visit for additional information.

1. May 19 – Brighton Speedway – RAIN
2. June 16 – Brighton Speedway – Dylan Westbrook (1)
3. June 23 – Merrittville Speedway – RAIN
4. July 7 – Brighton Speedway – Cory Turner (1)
5. July 28 – Brighton Speedway – Ryan Turner (1)
6. August 17 – Ohsweken Speedway – Scott Kreutter (1)
7. August 18 – South Buxton Raceway – Dylan Westbrook (2)
8. September 1 – Brighton Speedway – Steve Lyons (1)
9. September 2 – Brighton Speedway – Ryan Susice (1)
10. September 8 – Merrittville Speedway
NP. September 14 – Ohsweken Speedway (Night Before the Nationals)
NP. September 15 – Ohsweken Speedway (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)

Twitter: @SOSsprints

About the Southern Ontario Sprints: Founded in 1996, the Southern Ontario Sprints series is a traveling winged 360 Sprint Car tour based in Ontario, Canada. 2018 marks the 23rd year of operation for the Southern Ontario Sprints tour. The 2018 schedule consists of 12 events at four different race tracks in Ontario; each SOS tour event pays a minimum of $1,200-to-win and $240-to-start. Visit for more information.

The Southern Ontario Sprints would like to thank their 2018 partners, including Brighton Speedway, Merrittville Speedway, Ohsweken Speedway, South Buxton Raceway, the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame and Museum,, and Kreitz Oval Track Parts.


Last modified on Wednesday, 05 September 2018 15:30
back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries