Print this page
CORNWALL: Donny Schatz tops World of Outlaws

CORNWALL: Donny Schatz tops World of Outlaws

Written by  on Monday, 30 July 2012 16:09
CORNWALL, ON - It was an historic night at Cornwall Motor Speedway as the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series was in town for the first time ever.
The Sprint Car drivers in the business were in town on Sunday night to compete in the $10,000 to win 40-lap event. The Immovex Lightning Sprint and our own Modifieds were also on the racing card on LKQ Night.

The 40-lap World of Outlaws had Donny Schatz and Craig Kinser on the first line. Schatz was the early leader as Kerry Madsen ran in third behind Kinser. Schatz got into traffic with 10 laps in the books, he kept a good distance over the rest of the leaders but Kinser closed on to him 5 laps later as Craig Dollansky took third. Steve Kinser cracked the top 5 after starting in 12th on lap 23, he got to fourth 2 laps later and had eyes on the leaders. Dollansky and Craig Kinser got together just as Kerry Madsen brought the first caution with only 8 laps to go. Schatz in front as Steve Kinser got second after a good battle with Dollansky. Schatz led wire to wire to win the first ever WOO Sprint Car feature at Cornwall in front of Steve Kinser, Dollansky, Sammy Swindell and Lucas Wolfe completed the top 5.

Shane Pecore was the early leader in the 30-lap Jiffy Auto Services Modified feature. Pecore had Gage Morin as a dancing partner on the inside lane as Marc Therrien was in third. Michel Chicoine brought the first caution on lap 6. Morin had a great start when the green lights came back and took the lead over Pecore as Laurent Ladouceur was now in third. At the halfway point, Morin, Pecore, Ladouceur, Tim O’Brien and Joel Doiron were the top 5. Morin pulled away from the rest of the field with 10 laps to go. Ladouceur passed Pecore for second on lap 24. Roger Levesque got out of turn 2 and caution was out. Morin and Ladouceur got together and the veteran driver got a flat tire, Morin led the final laps to win his second feature of the season in front of Tim O’Brien, Joel Doiron, Chris Raabe and Shane Pecore completed the top 5.

The 25-lap Immovex Lightning Sprints feature was the first to take track, Stéphane St-Laurent took the lead as Mathieu Bardier took second followed by Guillaume Nedeirer. On the restart, Bardier and St-Laurent goes into battle for first and Bardier takes the lead on lap 5. Bardier stayed first as Chantal Provencher stopped in turn 2 on lap 7. Movement behind the leader as Simon Couture attacks St-Laurent for second. A red flag occurred for a flip on lap 12. Officials decided to shorten the feature to 14 laps as time constraint occurred. Bardier led the final two laps to win over St-Laurent and Couture.

The biggest crowd in history was on hand as several fans were sent to the infield as we ran out of space in the grandstands.

Another big event next week at the speedway as the second event of the Canadian Nationals for 358-Modifieds will be on the card with a $4,000 to win, 100-lap event along with a full show for Sportsman, Pro-Stock, Semi-Pro and Mini-Stocks. For more information on the upcoming events at the speedway, you can visit the website at www.cornwallspeedway or join us on our Facebook page at for useful information and fun contests!

World of Outlaws Sprint Car Feature Results (40 laps) Donny Schatz, Steve Kinser, Craig Dollansky, Sammy Swindell, Lucas Wolfe, Chad Kemenah, Craig Kinser, Joey Saldana, Michael Parent, Cody Darrah, James McFadden, Bill Rose, Kerry Madsen, Lee Ladouceur, Devin Caron, Mike Stelter, Warren Stevenson, Tyler Rand, Jessica Zemken, Kayle Robidoux

Jiffy Auto Services Modified Feature Results (30 laps) Gage Morin, Tim O'Brien, Joel Doiron, Chris Raabe, Shane Pecore, Matt Billings, Laurent Ladouceur, Carey Terrance, Luke Whitteker, Kyle Dingwall, Brian McDonald, Yan Bussiere, Dale Planck, Gilles Godard, Marc Therrien, Bruno Lepage, Michel Chicoine, Roger Levesque, Kayle Robidoux

Immovex Lightning Sprints (25 laps) Mathieu Bardier, Stéphane St-Laurent, Simon Couture, Guillaume Nedeirer, Yan Bilodeau, Daniel Nadeau, Yannick Poirier, Benjamin Mathieu, Pascal Levesque, Pierre-Yves Joyal, Simon Dufour, Eric Sundborg, René Couture, Kevin Burke, Andre Bardier, Eric Mireault, Michel Giguère, Michael Dion, Yves Capobianco, Sébastien Ferland, Michel Audy, Jonathan Mathieu, Maxime Grenon, Chantal Provencher, Normand Hamel, Marc Chapdeleine, Raphael Ferland

From Martin Bélanger / CMS

Published in Results & Points

Related items