Lacroix notches first NASCAR Pinty's Series oval win, at Jukasa Matthew Manor/ NASCAR

Lacroix notches first NASCAR Pinty's Series oval win, at Jukasa Featured

Written by  Tim Southers on Sunday, 17 June 2018 23:19

HAGERSVILLE, ON – For the better part of three seasons Kevin Lacroix has dominated the road courses races in the NASCAR Pinty's Series. But was still looking for his elusive first oval track win.

He took care of that Saturday night in dominating fashion, by winning the Rankin Construction 200 at Jukasa Motor Speedway.

The 30-year-old driver from Saint-Eustache, Quebec took the lead on Lap 79 after the first competition break and didn't look back.

Lacroix's No. 74 Bumper To Bumper/ Total/ Gates Dodge held off hard charges from Alex Tagliani and Cole Powell in the closing laps and in NASCAR Overtime for his ninth career series victory.

Series newcomer Cole Powell, in his second career NASCAR Pinty's Series start, led 67 laps and finished second. Alex Tagliani rounded out the top three for his first podium finish of 2018. Marc-Antoine Camirand and Andrew Ranger were fourth and fifth, respectively.
D.J Kennington finished sixth, while CTMP winner LP Dumoulin rebounded after a flat tire on lap 140 and a jumping the restart penalty on lap 149 to finish seventh.

Josten's Rookie of the Year candidate Brett Taylor, Peter Shepherd III and Connor James completed the top 10.

With the win, Lacroix took the points lead from Dumoulin by five points. Marc-Antoine Camirand, two behind Dumoulin and one ahead of Powell.

The Rankin Construction 200 will air on TSN2 on Saturday, June 23, at 2 p.m ET, and on RDS2 on Tuesday, July 3 at 10:30 p.m.

The NASCAR Pinty's Series will be back in action Saturday, June 30, at Quebec's Autodrome Chaudiere.

NASCAR Pinty's Series-Rankin Construction 200 Results

Saturday At Jukasa Motor Speedway

Hagersville, Ontario

Lap length: 0.625 miles

(Start position in parentheses)
1. (4) Kevin Lacroix, Saint-Eustache, Que., Dodge, 206 laps, 82.341 mph.
2. (3) Cole Powell, MT. Brydes, Ontario, Chevrolet, 206.
3. (6) Alex Tagliani, Lachenaie, Que., Chevrolet, 206.
4. (5) Marc-Antoine Camirand, Saint-Leonard-d'Aston, Que., Chevrolet, 206.
5. (1) Andrew Ranger, Roxton Pond, Que., Dodge, 206.
6. (7) D.J. Kennington, St. Thomas, Ont., Dodge, 206.
7. (9) L.P. Dumoulin, Trois-Rivieres, Que., Dodge, 206.
8. (12) Brett Taylor, Calgary, Alta., Dodge, 206.
9. (10) Peter Shepherd III, Brampton, Ont., Ford, 206.
10. (11) Connor James, Bradford, On, Dodge, 206.
11. (17) Jason White, Sun Peaks, B.C., Dodge, 206.
12. (13) Adam Martin, Ayr, Ont., Ford, 203.
13. (8) Anthony Simone, Aurora, Ont., Dodge, 183.
14. (16) Brad Graham, Glencoe, Ont., Chevrolet, 160, electrical.
15. (14) J.F. Dumoulin, Trois-Rivieres, Que., Dodge, 149, suspension.
16. (2) Donald Theetge, Boischatel, Que., Chevrolet, 95, accident.
17. (18) Joey McColm, Ajax, Ont., Dodge, 71, suspension.
18. (15) Kerry Micks, Mount Albert, Ont., Ford, 32, engine.

Race Statistics
Time of Race: 1 hour 33 minutes 49 seconds
Margin of Victory: .365 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: A.Ranger (119.522 mph, 18.825 seconds)
Caution Flags: 5 for 26 laps.
Lead Changes: 2 among 3 drivers.
Lap Leaders: A. Ranger 1-11; C. Powell 12-78; K. Lacroix 79-206.
Standings: 1. K. Lacroix, 89; 2. L. Dumoulin, 84; 3. M. Camirand, 82; 4. C. Powell, 81; 5. D. Kennington, 78; 6. A. Ranger, 73; 7. A. Tagliani, 72; 8. B. Taylor, 71; 9. A. Martin, 66; 10. K. Micks, 63.

back to top