OSCAAR Pro Midget ACC Race Report

OSCAAR Pro Midget ACC Race Report

Written by  Ashley McCubbin on Thursday, 12 October 2017 19:26

PETERBOROUGH, ON (October 11, 2017)- The string of success recently for Daniel Hawn continued as he won his fourth straight feature with the Autumn Colours Classic at Peterborough Speedway.

Meanwhile, Jordan Hanna picked up a runner-up to be crowned the 2017 OSCAAR Pro Midget Champion.

Unfortunately, Steve Belfry ran into issues on the third lap of the first heat with the chain falling off. Daniel Hawn picked up the win ahead of James Stanley, Brent Kemps, Norman Newman, Owen Elliott, and Gary Triska.

Jordan Hanna won the second qualifier ahead of Craig Pitchell, Ted Greenwood, Rob Summers, Jeff Blackburn, Shawn Stanley, and Brody Rickwood.

James Stanley won the third heat ahead of Pitchell, Summers, Newman, Kemps, Triska, and Shawn Stanley.

Daniel Hawn went for the daily double ahead of Hanna, Rickwood, Belfry, Elliott, Blackburn, and Greenwood.

Come feature time, Jordan Hanna started pole virtue of Chase for the Colours win, alongside Daniel Hawn. Craig Pitchell qualified third, followed by James Stanley, Ted Greenwood, Rob Summers, Norman Newman, Owen Elliott, Gary Triska, Shawn Stanley, Brody Rickwood, and Steve Belfry.

Daniel Hawn pulled out to the early lead on Lap 1 ahead of Hanna, Pitchell, Greenwood, James Stanley, and Summers. Greenwood would get alongside Pitchell for third on Lap 3, completing the pass a lap later and bringing Stanley through with him. Pitchell now ran fifth ahead of Newman, Rickwood, Belfry, Elliott, Shawn Stanley, and Triska.

James Stanley was then able to get alongside Greenwood for third on Lap 8, completing the pass four laps later as Pitchell continued to run fifth. Behind him, Belfry was able to get by Rickwood for seventh on Lap 13. Unfortunately, Pitchell’s strong run came to an end two laps later, as he’d go around.

Daniel Hawn got a good restart, leading the rest of the way en route to scoring the victory. Jordan Hanna battled hard to a runner-up finish to clinch the 2017 OSCAAR Pro Midget Championship. James Stanley finished third, followed by Ted Greenwood and Craig Pitchell.

Norman Newman finished sixth, followed by Steve Belfry, Shawn Stanley, Brody Rickwood, Owen Elliott, Gary Triska, and Rob Summers.


back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries