Print this page
Labbe Claims First Pinty's Championship Greg MacPherson photo

Labbe Claims First Pinty's Championship

Written by  Alex Gallacher, on Monday, 25 September 2017 13:56

HAGERSVILLE, ON (September 25, 2017)-- After 13 races that took the series to five different provinces, it was only fitting a champion was crowned at the birthplace of NASCAR in Canada.

Following the Pinty's Fall Brawl at Jukasa Motor Speedway, Alex Labbe claimed his first NASCAR Pinty's Series championship by 16 points over rival Kevin Lacroix.

The 24-year-old from Victoriaville, Quebec, finished the year with an impressive five wins, 11 top fives and 12 top 10s. Tallying up 542 points, Labbe claims the highest honour in Canadian stock car racing, the 2017 NASCAR Pinty's Series championship.

Following his championship season, Labbe announced his intentions to run full time in NASCAR's Xfinity Series in 2018.

The Pinty's Fall Brawl lived up to its name and was not without its drama. Late race contact between NASCAR Next driver Cayden Lapcevich and D.J Kennington culminated in Lapcevich executing a bump and run pass Donald Theetge in the final corner to claim victory at Jukasa. The 2016 Pinty's Series champion lead only three laps to score his third win of the 2017 season and the sixth of his career.

Second place finisher Donald Theetge led 134 laps throughout the race, to tie his best career NASCAR Pinty's Series finish. LP Dumoulin snuck home to a third place, his third podium of the season. Kevin Lacroix and JF Dumoulin rounded out the top five.

Alex Tagliani and Larry Jackson finished sixth and seventh respectively, while Donald Chisholm, Noel Dowler and Andrew Ranger completed the top 10.

Series Champion Alex Labbe, only had to start to clinch the title. Labbe started the 200-lap feature second before retiring from the race on Lap 62 from suspension issues, which resulted in a 20th-place finish.

In addition to Labbe's championship, Alain Lord Mounir claimed the 2017 Owner's championship for the No.32 Can-am/Kappa/Cyclops Gear/Lous BBQ Ford and Adam Martin claimed Jostens Rookie of the Year honours.

The Pinty's Fall Brawl will air on TSN Sunday, Oct 1 at 11:30 a.m. ET, and on RDS Saturday Oct 20 at 9:30 p.m. ET.

Alex Labbe will be honoured at the NASCAR Touring Series Championship Banquet in Charlotte this December.


Published in Results & Points

Related items