MARITIMES: Tucker takes second tour win of 2012

MARITIMES: Tucker takes second tour win of 2012

Written by  on Monday, 09 July 2012 15:09
FREDERICTON, NB - Shawn Tucker became the first two-time Parts for Trucks Tour winner of 2012 by taking the checkers at the Atlantic Dodge Dealers 100 Saturday night at Speedway 660. Tucker took over the lead just before the halfway point and endured a 90-minute rain delay before claiming the win.

“We had a great car tonight and I am glad we were able to get in all one hundred laps for the Speedway 660 fans,” said Tucker. “I was pressured by Mike Stevens and Greg Proude and knew that John Flemming was coming hard at the end, so it was great to be able to hold those guys off for the win.”

Flemming settled for second in the race, while Stevens claimed third. Proude and Craig Slaunwhite rounded out the top five. Darren MacKinnon won the Parts for Trucks pro stock time trials. Kent Vincent took the checkers in the dash, while Craig Slaunwhite and Donald Chisholm won the heat races.

The Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman feature was an exciting race with Shawn Warren picking up his second win of the year. The Waasis driver worked his magic on the outside groove to pick up the victory. Peter Gaddess from Minto followed Warren to the front of the field and settled for second place. Jason Shannon, racing out of Hoyt, finished third. The sportsman heat races were won by Shannon and Robert Raynes.

In the RV World Street Stock feature Shannon Brake from Quispamsis also claimed his second feature win of the season. Brake outduelled Rick Cashol for the win. Roger Slocum ran third in the feature. Cashol and Heidi Cooper won the street stock heat races.

From Angela Coffey / Speedway 660

back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries