Tristan Nunez won the pole during Saturday’s WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, qualifying for Sunday’s Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix. Tristan Nunez won the pole during Saturday’s WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, qualifying for Sunday’s Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix. John Walker

CTMP: Nunez on pole for today's Mobil 1 SportsCar GP Featured

Written by  Ryan Chalmers / CTMP on Sunday, 10 July 2016 08:34

@CTMPOfficial • @Mobil1 • @Weathertech • @IMSA • @MazdaCanada • BOWMANVILLE, ON – Mazda Motorsports driver Tristan Nunez won the pole for today's Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, setting the pace with a best lap time of 1:10.126. Nunez will co-pilot the #55 Mazda Prototype with Jonathan Bomarito in tomorrow’s 11:05 am race.


Corvette Racing driver Antonio Garcia of Spain won the pole in the highly competitive Grand Touring Le Mans (GTLM) class with a fast lap of 1:15.198. The factory pilot is joined by Denmark’s Jan Magnussen in the Corvette C7.R. In the Prototype Challenge (PC) class, Colin Braun of CORE Autosports took the top spot with a lap time of 1:11.946 in the ORECA FLM09, and Team Seattle/Alex Job Racing’s Alex Riberas had the fastest time for Grand Touring Daytona (GTD) at 1:18.245 in the Porsche 911 GT3 R.

In Saturday’s feature race, the Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge, Toronto’s Scott Maxwell and co-driver Billy Johnson were victorious in the Grand Sport class. Winnipeg’s Daniel Burkett and Marc Miller came in second. In Street Tuner action, Americans Sarah Cattaneo and Owen Trinkler finished atop the podium.

Other races held on Saturday included the Nissan Micra Cup, Mazda Prototype Lites presented by Cooper Tires and the SCCA Battery Tender Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich.

The Mazda Prototype Lites first race of the weekend saw JDC Motorsports’ Clark Toppe take the win with a lap time of 1:15.029. Vancouver’s James Dayson came in sixth overall.

Sunday's schedule begins at 8 am with IMSA WeatherTech Championship warm-ups. The Mazda Prototype Lites, Nissan Micra Cup and SCCA Mazda MX-5 Cup hold their second races of the weekend. The Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race gets underway at 11:05 am ET.

- 30 -

For further information:

Ryan Chalmers, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 800-866-1072 (office) (905) 260-1711 (cell)

Photo Credit – John Walker
Cutline – Tristan Nunez won the pole during Saturday’s WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, qualifying for Sunday’s Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix.

BOWMANVILLE, Ontario, Canada (AP) – Qualifying for Sunday’s IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix at the 2.459-mile, 10-turn Canadian Tire Motorsport Park road circuit with starting position, car number (in parentheses), driver, car and speed in miles per hour.
1. (55) Tristan Nunez, Mazda, 126.236 mph
2. (10) Ricky Taylor, Corvette DP, 125.682
3. (70) Tom Long, Mazda, 125.438
4. (5) Christian Fittipaldi, Corvette DP, 125.103
5. (31) Eric Curran, Corvette DP, 124.372
6. (90) Marc Goossens, Corvette DP, 124.164
7. (60) John Pew, Ligier JS P2 Honda, 123.361
8. y-(54) Colin Braun, ORECA FLM09 Chevrolet, 123.042
9. (38) James French, ORECA FLM09 Chevrolet, 122.318
10. (85) Stephen Simpson, ORECA FLM09 Chevrolet, 122.190
11. (20) Matthew McMurry, ORECA FLM09 Chevrolet, 122.151
12. (52) Robert Alon, ORECA FLM09 Chevrolet, 122.094
13. (8) Alex Popow, ORECA FLM09 Chevrolet, 120.939
14. (0) Katherine Legge, DWC13, 119.503
15. (88) Mark Kvamme, ORECA FLM09 Chevrolet, 118.001
16. x-(3) Antonio Garcia, Chevrolet Corvette C7.R, 117.721
17. (66) Dirk Mueller, Ford GT, 117.662
18. (67) Richard Westbrook, Ford GT, 117.359
19. (100) Lucas Luhr, BMW M6 GTLM, 117.334
20. (25) Bill Auberlen, BMW M6 GTLM, 117.249
21. (4) Oliver Gavin, Chevrolet Corvette C7.R, 117.174
22. (62) Giancarlo Fisichella, Ferrari F488 GTE, 116.817
23. (912) Earl Bamber, Porsche 911 RSR, 116.128
24. (911) Nick Tandy, Porsche 911 RSR, 115.754
25. z-(23) Alex Riberas, Porsche 911 GT3 R, 113.137
26. (6) Andrew Davis, Audi R8 LMS GT3, 112.652
27. (16) Spencer Pumpelly, Lamborghini Huracán GT3, 112.523
28. (96) Bret Curtis, BMW M6 GT3, 112.521
29. (73) Patrick Lindsey, Porsche 911 GT3 R, 112.419
30. (9) Matt Bell, Audi R8 LMS GT3, 112.294
31. (27) Cedric Sbirrazzuoli, Lamborghini Huracán GT3, 112.056
32. (33) Ben Keating, Dodge Viper GT3-R, 111.869
33. (48) Madison Snow, Lamborghini Huracán GT3, 111.842
34. (63) Christina Nielsen, Ferrari F488 GT3, 111.587
35. (97) Michael Marsal, BMW M6 GT3, 110.558
36. (44) John Potter, Audi R8 LMS GT3, 110.383
37. (22) Cooper MacNeil, Porsche 911 GT3 R, 110.284

y-PC class pole
x-GT Le Mans class pole
z-GT Daytona class pole

Last modified on Sunday, 10 July 2016 08:44
back to top