Rob Goulding holds off Tyler Lafantaisie (06) and Sam Iftody (38) down the back stretch Rob Goulding holds off Tyler Lafantaisie (06) and Sam Iftody (38) down the back stretch photo: Julie Davidson

Haynes wins Merrittville Triple Crown Series Opener‏

Written by  on Monday, 01 June 2015 14:52

@Merrittville • THOROLD, ONTARIO – Archer Truck Services kicked off the 2015 Triple Crown Series for the Van Raine Construction 4 Cylinders with Kyle Haynes' second win of the season coming in the Series Opener.

Gary Lindberg took home his fourth Rick's Delivery Sportsman Feature of the season while 22 time Pinty's Delicious Foods 358 Modified Champion won his first feature event since 2013. Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series action had defending Hoosier Stock Champion Mark Fawcett won his first feature with Josh Sliter notching his third win.

Threatening weather postponed the Kid's Poster Contest as the racing was run non-stop. A new date will be announced soon.

"I'm bad on starts," said Caledon's Kyle Haynes after a delayed Victory Lane Celebration after winning the start of the Triple Crown Series for the 4 Cylinder Division, "I've learned to be patient ... you can't win it on the first lap."

Defending Triple Crown and Overall Champion Leroy Buscumb was first to lead the 20 lap special event and almost from the start faced a challenge from Rob Goulding. The return to racing was probably the best medicine for Buscumb who missed last week due to an illness. Front-runners Buscumb and Goulding were joined by Tyler Lafantaisie and Haynes with the leaders into lap traffic pretty quickly.

Lap 13 was lucky for the leaders but not for Brandon Pidgeon whose engine let go in a big puff of smoke just past the start-finish line. Buscumb barely missed the slowing car. Buscumb resumed control on the restart but down the backstretch of lap 14 – Haynes was the new leader. Lafantaisie and Kyle Rothwell would take over second and third on lap 16 when Buscumb slowed off the pace with an apparent flat tire.

Rothwell made a late race charge in the closing laps to overtake Lafantaisie but couldn't catch Haynes. Mike Sadusek was fourth with Goulding settling for fifth.

The Triple Crown Series for the Van Raine Construction 4 Cylinders resumes Saturday July 18 on Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia Awareness Night. 

 "I'd like to thank my guys and (Chad) Brachmann's crew," said four-time 2015 Rick's Delivery Sportsman Division Feature Winner Gary Lindberg, "they changed everything after our heat."

Jordan Cosco was first to lead the 25 lap Feature before fellow front row starter Robert Baker  became the new leader. Exiting Turn 4 to complete Lap 5, Brent Begolo took over top spot with Gary Lindberg closing in on the leaders.  Caution on Lap 12 would slow Begolo, who would resume control on the restart.

Begolo, Chad Chevalier and Lindberg would pull away from the field with Chevalier the new leader on lap 15. Eventually Lindberg would take over second spot and became the race leader out of Turn 4 to complete lap 21.

The second generation Ridgeway Driver Lindberg was followed by Chevalier and Begolo with Brad Rouse and Austin Wood closing out the top five.

"With the wind and the sun today ... it was crazy," said Pete Bicknell in Pinty's Delicious Foods 358 Modified Victory Lane for the first time since August of 2013. "Thanks to Bryant and Howard, they put more water down today then they have all season – thanks to all the race fans for coming out and to the race teams for pushing the show along."

After the initial start was waved off, second generation driver Travis Miller was first to lead the 35 lap event. With Chris Steele and Pete Bicknell applying early pressure – the two split the leader with one getting underneath and the other around the outside. With Bicknell out front, Steele settled into second before Tyler McPherson would take control of the runner-up spot. One driver on the move was Mike Bowman who would catch Steele and by Lap 14, closed in on McPherson.

Lap 16 saw Bowman take over the runner up spot with his next target the leader. Bicknell had pulled away to a comfortable lead but Bowman began to reel him in. Catching Bicknell, Bowman actually got underneath the leader several times but would lose some momentum after jumping the cushion.

Bowman would get one last chance after Steele slowed on lap 33, slowing the pace.

In the two lap dash to the Checkered Flag – Bicknell would hold off Bowman with Tommy Flannigan and Mark D'Ilario making late race moves to get by McPherson.

"I did my homework this week," said Canfield's Mark Fawcett in Hoosier Stock Victory Lane for the first time of 2015, "I went back to the original set up from when I built this car. It was a rocket then ... and it was a rocket tonight." 

Billy Bleich, Jr., beat front row starter Chris Crawford to the start finish line to take control of the 20 lap Feature before Pete Reid became the new leader before Lap 4. Unfortunately Bleich and Reid would make contact slowing the pace. Crawford and Kevin Knapp would race back to the green flag side by side until Knapp edged forward when racing resumed. Bleich and Reid would come together again on Lap 8 slowing the field once again just as Jim Lampman took over the lead.

Jason Fontaine made the move of the night quickly taking over top spot on the restart with Mark Fawcett the new leader on lap 11. Lap 12 had Lampman off the pace with a flat left front with Fawcett back in control on the restart. Lap 14 saw Kevin Knapp also off the pace although with a flat right front tire with Fawcett back to the lead on the restart.

Side by side and door to door battling for position behind him allowed Fawcett to pull away from the pack. Three wide for the runner up spot eventually saw Rob Murray land in second with Kyle Pelrine and Jack Myers also making late race charges with Fontaine settling for fifth.

Dylan Davidson was first to lead the 20 lap Feature for the Rev's Full Throttle Powersports Modified Lites with Jeffrey May, Paul Klager and Jamie Gilbert on the move.

May would quickly take the lead until a Lap 6 caution after a number of cars came together in Turn 4.

May resumed control on the restart until Jamie Gilbert became the new leader the next time out of Turn 4 to complete Lap 6. Racing to the halfway point, Klager took over the runner up and would challenge Gilbert by lap 14. The two would come together halfway down the backstretch sending Gilbert into a number of barrel rolls. Gilbert was ok after the incident.

Josh Sliter was the new leader on the restart and would drive away from the field through to the checkered flag. Sliter would be followed by Jeffrey May, Rob Misener, Dylan Davidson and Paul Klager.

From Jim Irvine / Assistant General Manager

Last modified on Tuesday, 02 June 2015 09:36
back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries