Danny Johnson Captures Super DIRTcar Series Win #78 at Brockville photo: courtesy BOS

Danny Johnson Captures Super DIRTcar Series Win #78 at Brockville

Written by  on Thursday, 28 May 2015 09:12

@bos_speedway • @SuperDIRTcar • Brockville, ON (May 28, 2015)- With warm temperatures and a packed pit area the Big Block Modified Super DirtCar Series invaded the Brockville Ontario Speedway this past Wednesday night. A total of 40 cars were on hand with a great mixture of series regulars and local drivers, all of which were hungry for victory.

30 cars came to the start of Round 3 of the Big Block Modified Super DirtCar Series and Billy Dunn set the pace in the early going over Danny Johnson, Peter Britten, Billy Decker and Tim Fuller.

Drivers at the start of the race had no problems moving all over the speedway to try and find a place to run but Dunn clearly had the car to beat as he drove away from the field by a straightaway in the first seven laps. On Lap 10 the first caution flew for a four car pileup setting up the first restart of the night.

Like the initial green flag Dunn continued his assault on the field over Johnson, Decker, Fuller and Mat Williamson. a long green flag run saw the track change pretty quickly as it began to take on rubber which saw speeds pick up during the race. By the halfway point Dunn seemed untouchable for the time being with Johnson, Decker, Fuller and Williamson still rounding out the top five spots.

On lap 61 the yellow flew for Carey Terrance as he slid off the back stretch. When the race resumed Dunn still remained in control but Johnson was doing all he could to keep the leader within striking distance with Decker still third, Fuller and Williamson still completing the top five.

The yellow flew on lap 72 as three cars went off the track in Turn 1.

On the restart Dunn continued to lead but "The Doctor" may have been saving something as he closed in on the leader while behind them Billy Decker and Mat Williamson staged a heated battle for third. The two drivers raced wheel to wheel in Turn 3, as they exited Turn 4 Decker pulled to the high side of the turn with a broken front end.

Decker would finish 24th on the night.

On the restart Dunn led the way but Johnson was right there to challenge. Heading into Turn 3 with nine laps remaining Dunn slipped up out of the groove and that was all he needed as Johnson cruised by on the bottom to take over the lead and drive away from the field, as he scored his 78th Super DirtCar Series victory.

Dunn came home second after leading 90 laps, Williamson finished third with Tim Fuller and Jimmy Phelps rounding out the top five. The highest finishing track regular on the night was Pat O'Brien as he came from 13th to finish seventh and Lance Willix was close behind charging from 22nd on the grid to finish in eighth.

The DirtCar Sportsman were also on hand this past Wednesday for a 25 lap event.

With no points on the line a heads up start put Dylan Evoy and Aaron Pugh on the front row. Pugh would take command of the race at the start, over Evoy, Shane Pecore, Steve Barber and Jon Mills. Despite a couple of early yellows that slowed the feature, it didn't slow the pace of Pugh as he held on to the top spot with Evoy, Pecore, Ryan Scott and Barber all giving chase.

At the halfway point Kyle Wilson had problems, breaking the front end on his car in Turn 2. On the restart Pugh continued to lead the way with Evoy second but the battle was on for third. Shane Pecore and Ryan Scott put on one of the best battles for position all night as Scott took command of the third position with five-to-go and tried to reel in the top two drivers.

In the closing stages Evoy tried at will to get by for the lead. Despite several challenges, it would not be enough as Aaron Pugh led all 25 laps to score his third career win at "The BOS." Evoy came home second with Ryan Scott, Shane Pecore and Jon Mills finishing up in the top five.


This coming Saturday a full program is in store plus a 25 lap Street Stock feature event, and if that wasn't enough it's double feature time again as the Sportsman will pick up from the opening day race on Lap 8 with Jessica Power as the race leader. The Rookie Sportsman will also run their makeup race from May. 9 as well. The action begins at 7pm.


Big Block Modified Super DirtCar Series (100 laps): DANNY JOHNSON, Billy Dunn, Mat Williamson, Tim Fuller, Jimmy Phelps, Pat Ward, Pat O'Brien, Lance Willix II, Brett Hearn, Matt Sheppard, Stephane Lafrance, Jordan McCreadie, Ryan Arbuthnot, Luke Whitteker, Kyle Dingwall, Erick Rudolph, Larry Wight, Matt Billings, Gary Tomkins, Rich Scagliotta, Keith Flach, Dave Rauscher, Stewart Friesen, Billy Decker, Carey Terrance, Peter Britten, Steve Bernard, Danny O'Brien, Justin Haers, Jason Riddell

Sportsman: AARON PUGH, Dylan Evoy, Ryan Scott, Shane Pecore, Jon Mills, Tristan Draper, Jessica Power, Jason Shipclark, Johnathon Ferguson, Cory Winters, Dave Wilgosh, Shane Sterns, Jason Cummings, Tabatha Murphy, Steve Barber, Connor Dawdy, Kyle Wilson

From: Paul & Cheryl Kirkland/ BOS




back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries