Herbison makes it two in a row at Brockville

Written by  on Monday, 21 May 2012 23:49
BROCKVILLE, ON - Chris Herbison made a pass on the last lap for the win on opening night at Brockville Ontario Speedway. And on Saturday night, he did it differently with the same ultimate result leading all 40 laps to take the first event in the three race St. Lawrence Seaway series for Sportsman cars at the Beast of the East.

Herbison did have a couple of challenges in the past paced event, first from Corey Wheeler, who flew through the field only to bring out a red flag when he flipped running in the runner up spot in turn 2 at the midway mark. Then invader Martin Pelletier took his shot but it was Herbison by five car lengths when the checkered flag flew. Sheldon Hoogwerf hung around the top five for most of the race finally ending up third in front of Ryan Poole, who also took a couple of attempts at getting past Herbison early and a hard charging Gilles Godard. The series concludes with a July event at Mohawk International Raceway and in September at Cornwall.

Dale Planck got involved in a first lap incident in turn 4 of the modified event but it did little to slow him down. The cagey veteran needed to pass more cars to get to the front, but he was able to wrestle away the lead from Stephane LaFrance with a bold inside move coming off turn 4 in the final 10 laps for his second feature win in as many nights. LaFrance was a strong second in front of Tim O Brien, Lee Gill and Pat O Brien.

The best race of the night was the 15 lap Street Stock main. Six cars finished the race within a second of each other. Nick Gauvreau led every lap en route to victory for the first time in a couple of seasons. Yan Labelle was half a car length behind along with Travis Andrews, Kevin Fetterly and Dominic Gauvreau at the finish.

Joe McNichols is also two for two to start the year at the BOS with another Rookie class win. Dwight Feltham was second followed by Ron Day, Corbin Miller and Quincy Roberts. Brockville Ontario Speedway returns to action next Saturday night, May 26th with a full race program plus the second appearance of the year by the Vintage cars. The green flag drops at 7 pm.


Modifieds: Dale Planck, Stephane LaFrance, Tim O Brien, Lee Gill, Pat O Brien, Marc Therrien, Luke Stewart, Brian McDonald, Matt Billings, Kyle Dingwall, Bryan Rogers, John Mulder, Joe Banks, Steve Bilow, Andy Lloyd, Roger Levesque, Adam Turner, Bobby Herrington, Danny O Brien, Jason Riddell, Luke Whitteker

Sportsman: Chris Herbison, Martin Pelletier, Sheldon Hoogwerf, Ryan Poole, Gilles Godard, Doug O Blenis, Bruce Makinson, Steve Barber, Dana Aikins, Mitch Primeau, Jessica Power, Ryan Arbuthnot, Adam Rozon, Ryan Robertson, Tabatha Murphy, Steve Billings, Jason Cummings, Johnathon Ferguson, Corey Wheeler, Kenny Polite, Corey Winters, Terry Ladouceur, John Mills, Kevin Bennett, Brian Comeau, Dylan Breen

Street Stocks: Nick Gauvreau, Yan Labelle, Travis Andrews, Kevin Fetterly, Dominic Gauvreau, Derek Cryderman, Darrick Eaton, Brock Cullen, Daniel Vaillieres, Darryl Mitchell, Danny Mocibob, Barry Baker, Frank Mitchell, Alain Proulx

Rookies: Joe McNichols, Dwight Feltham, Ron Day, Corbin Miller, Quincy Roberts, Chris Bakker, Josh Kirkland, John Stanley, Colin Tracey, Tyler Markell, Brandon Henderson, Richard Bartholomew, Samantha Henderson, Shawn Bauder, Eric Snyder, Chris James, Tyson Slinger, Richard Snyder, Tim Rhoden

From Steve Young

back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries