Danny O'Brien captured his third consecutive victory at Brockville Speedway on July 13. Danny O'Brien captured his third consecutive victory at Brockville Speedway on July 13. photo: courtesy Brockville Speedway

O'Brien On A Roll With Third Straight Win at Brockville

Written by  on Sunday, 14 July 2013 10:20

July 13, 2013- It was another big night of racing at "The BOS" on Saturday night. Polite Sand and Gravel played host to double features in the Rookie class plus the 358 Modifieds and Street Stocks along with the ever exciting, 20 lap enduro.

The Rookie feature which was held over from June 22nd was set to roll off first on the night.

Kurtis Daye and Josh Kirkland started on the front row in the 15 lap event with Kirkland jumping out to the early lead into Turn 1. Kirkland had a quick race car and jumped out to a healthy straight away lead with Tyson Slinger, Corbin Miller, Tyler Markell and Joe McNichols completing the top 5 early on.

Kirkland had not won at the speedway in over a year and was looking to get back into victory lane. After the halfway point Quincy Roberts, Slinger and Mike Best started to charge to the front of the field. With one lap to go Tyler Markell sailed off in the first corner, flipping end over end. Markell escaped injury but his car was done for the night. On the last restart Kirkland's car began to show smoke but he didn't let it slow his charge as he went on to score his first win of the season over Slinger, Roberts, Best and McNichols.

In 358 Modified action, Andy Lloyd and Jason Riddell were poised to get to victory lane for the first time in their careers.

Riddell would use the outside groove on the start to grab the early race lead with Stephane Lafrance, Lloyd, Joe Banks and Luke Stewart rounding out the top five. Riddell would lead the opening four laps until Lafrance made the pass for the lead off Turn 4. Once in front Lafrance showed how strong he was by pulling away to a straight away lead by Lap 9 with Riddell, Banks, Lloyd, and Stewart completing the top five. On lap 12, the first yellow would fly for Riddell, who spun off turn number two.

On the restart Lafrance continued his dominance but some heavy hitters were moving forward. Kyle Dingwall started 10th and quickly made his way to the second spot getting by Joe Banks off Turn 4.

Behind him Danny O'Brien was also on the move. Coming from 14th he made his way to the third spot, getting by Banks with 11 laps remaining. On lap 20 the yellow flew for Luke Whitteker and Bryan Rogers, who tangled in Turn 4. Rogers received the most damage as he was towed to the pits, done for the race. One lap later the yellow would fly for Andy Lloyd as he spun on the back stretch and was hit head on by John Mulder. Both drivers were able to walk away but were also towed to the pits.

Lafrance jumped out front on the restart but his car began to slow allowing Danny O'Brien was able to fly by the on the top side off Turn 2 with four laps remaining.

Lafrance's great night would end quickly as he blew a tire forcing him pitside. He would return at the back of the field. Steve Bilow also brought the yellow out on lap 27 as he blew a motor collecting April Wilson. On the last restart Danny O'Brien rocketed to a three car length lead and would hold it the rest of the way for his third win in a row and fourth of the season, over Dingwall, Lee Gill charged his way forward from 13th to finish third. Pat and Tim O'Brien rounded out the top five.

In the Street Stocks, Travis Andrews was looking to get back into victory lane for the first time in a long time, he took the lead in the 15 lap event from the outside of the front row.

Andrews would lead the opening three laps until the first yellow flew for Todd Raabe, who slowed off Turn 4. Andrews continued to hold the top spot with John Gifford, Alex Gagnon, Steve Kearney and Danny Mocibob completing the top five. Andrews and Gifford had the two fastest cars on the race track and they quickly pulled away from third place Gagnon and the battle was on for the lead.

Gifford tried several attempts to get but Andrews held the lead with Kearney, Gagnon and three-time champion Kevin Fetterly Jr. rounding out the top five. With one lap to go Andrews seem to slow heading into Turn 1 as the handling began to go south due to a slowly leaking right front tire.  It did not matter, as Travis Andrews held on for the popular win over Gifford, Gagnon, Fetterly and Brock Cullen.

In the Rookie night cap Mike Best continued his great season by jumping out to the early race lead in the 15 lap affair with Ron Day, Quincy Roberts, Tyson Slinger and Dave Watchorn making up the top five early on.

The first yellow flew on Lap 4 for Marc Matthais, who spun in Turn 3.

On the restart Quincy Roberts was looking to grab his second win of the year and he quickly took over the top spot with Day, Best, Joe McNichols and Tyson Slinger rounding out the top five. Roberts had a dominant race car but would soon enter lapped traffic, allowing McNichols to close in with only four laps to go.

On lap 12 the final caution flew for Corbin Miller who hit the wall on the front stretch. On the final restart Roberts jumped out in front and would hang on to collect his second win of the season over McNichols, Best, Watchorn and Tyson Slinger.

In the 20 lap enduro Ryan Prevost would top the eight car field and lead every lap on route to the big win over a hard charging Ryan Brown.


Next week the Patriot Sprint Tour will be set to invade "The BOS" along with a full show in all 5 divisions. The green Flag drops at 7pm.


358 Modified: DANNY O'BRIEN, Kyle Dingwall, Lee Gill, Pat O'Brien, Tim O'Brien, Ryan Arbuthnot, Bobby Herrington, Joe Banks, Luke Stewart, Jeff Ciglich, Dave Austin, Kenny Polite, Roger Levesque, Luke Whitteker, Jason Riddell, Stephane Lafrance, April Wilson, Steve Bilow, Andy Lloyd, John Mulder, Bryan Rogers

Street Stock: TRAVIS ANDREWS, John Gifford, Alex Gagnon, Kevin Fetterly Jr., Brock Cullen, Steve Kearney, Darrick Eaton, Derek Cryderman, Danny Mocibob, Barry Baker, Todd Raabe, Peter Raabe, Selena Simzer

Rookie: QUINCY ROBERTS, Joe McNichols, Mike Best, Dave Watchorn, Tyson Slinger, Kevin Scott, Mike Oakley, Ron Day, Scott McGill, Marc Matthais, Kurtis Daye, Randy Massey, Samantha Henderson, Mike McGonegal, Josh Kirkland, Corbin Miller, Brad Banks, Cody McEroy, Colin Tracey, Geneva Sheffield, Tyler Markell

Rookie (Delayed from 6/22): JOSH KIRKLAND, Tyson Slinger, Quincy Roberts, Mike Best, Joe McNichols, Kurtis Daye, Randy Massey, Corbin Miller, Cody McEroy, Tyler Markell, Samantha Henderson, Brad Banks


From: BOS

back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries