Surviving an incident-filled Modified feature, winner Joe Brosseau celebrates in South Buxton's Victory Lane Surviving an incident-filled Modified feature, winner Joe Brosseau celebrates in South Buxton's Victory Lane photo: James MacDonald/ Apex One Photo

South Buxton Raceway Report for June 8, 2013

Written by  on Monday, 10 June 2013 10:47

South Buxton Raceway/ June 8, 2013- Matt Sorrell, in just his fifth night of racing, led the final 11 circuits to win the Tirecraft Mini-Mod feature on Saturday night at South Buxton Raceway.

The Dresden native, whose best previous feature finish was eighth in his each of the first two nights, started in the second row and battled Merlin's Steve Shaw Jr. for the lead for several laps before making the winning pass on the ninth lap and never looked back. The 26-year-old rookie held off veteran Denis DeSerrano, who won the first three Mini-Mod features this season, on a restart with eight to go before Blenheim's Trevor Jones took up the chase with five laps left.

Jones held on to finish second, followed by Shaw, Cottam's DeSerrano and Blenheim's Elliott Wilton.

DeSerrano won a heat race earlier in the night to give him 10 wins in 15 total races through the first five weeks of the season.

Merlin's Steve Shaw won his third Windride Transportation Sport Stocks feature of the season, taking advantage of a caution with five laps to go to take the lead from Merlin's Eren Vanderiviere a lap later. Wallaceburg's Willy Vyse, Kingsville's Rob Young and Wheatley's Steve Clements rounded out the top five.

Doris Lajeunesse was shaken up but not hurt when his car flipped over three times and landed on its wheels in turn three. He was running alone in second place on lap seven of the 20-lap race when the drive shaft broke and sent the car airborne.

Merlin's Joe Brosseau had to come from the back twice to win a crash-filled Schinkels Gourmet Meats UMP Modifieds feature.

Brosseau had to restart at the back after a spin while leading on lap three. He stormed through the field to retake the lead on lap nine, only to be sent to the back again for an accident with Wallaceburg's Drew Smith. He again drove through the pack to move into second behind Chatham's Brian Speelman on lap 15 and took the lead with four to go when they made contact coming out of turn four. This time, Brosseau inherited the lead while Speelman had to restart at the back.

It took four more restarts to finish the final four laps and when the dust settled, Brosseau was in the Winner's Circle with a beaten up race car, while the rest of the field was also a mangled mess.

Chatham's Darryl Hoekstra recovered from an early-race incident to finish second, followed by Merlin's Jeff Daniels, Speelman and Chatham's Eric Vanderiviere.

Charing Cross's Chris Ross went three-for-three to sweep the UMP Late Models races, including the feature for the second week in a row. Chatham's Brad Authier and Wallaceburg's Mike Lewis finished second and third, the only other cars out of the six starters on the track as the checkereds flew.

This Saturday, South Buxton hosts the Can-Am Topless Sprints with cars from the Ontario Topless Sprints and Michigan Traditional Sprint series, plus other regular sprint series vehicles minus their wings. There will also be action in South Buxton's regular divisions beginning at 7 p.m.

From: Mike Bennett/ South Buxton Raceway


Last modified on Monday, 10 June 2013 10:56
back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries