The Weather Finally Clears for Cornwall Motor Speedway

The Weather Finally Clears for Cornwall Motor Speedway

Written by  on Monday, 10 June 2013 10:04

Cornwall, Ont – Sunday, June 9, 2013 – Finally Mother nature let us have opening night at Cornwall Motor Speedway, a full program was on tap for all five regular divisions and the TUSA Mod-Lite for their first annual visit. A record field of 156 cars travelled to Cornwall on Paul's Auto Body Night.

Stephane Lafrance took the early lead in the 30-lap Jiffy Auto Services Modified feature race. Lafrance was followed by Luke Whitteker and Mario Clair. Lafrance got into traffic on lap 8 as pulled off from the rest of the field. At halfway point, Lafrance was still in front with Whitteker, Clair, Robidoux and David Hebert the top 5. First caution is out on lap 21 as Kyle Dingwall clipped the wall in the backstretch, Chris Raabe has managed is way up to third as Clair slipped to sixth. On the restart, Whitteker had a great jump and got to the lead over Lafrance as yellow lights came out with 6 laps to go. Lafrance regained the first place on the following green as Clair was back to fourth behind Laurent Ladouceur. Lafrance pulled away and claimed his first feature of the year over Whitteker and Ladouceur, Clair and Raabe completed the top 5.

The Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock feature saw Dave Bissonnette taking the lead when a 6-car wreck occurred in front of the grandstand on lap 6 involving, Bruno Cyr, Jocelyn Chicoine, Dan Desnoyers, C-D Beauchamp, Marc Lalonde and Stéphane Lebrun. On the restart, George Renaud gained the lead over Bissonnette with Roch Aubin in third but Bissonnette got back the top spot with 5 laps to go. Bissonnette led the final portion of the 20-lap race and got win #1 of the year at Cornwall.

Defending champion Chris Herbison was the early leader in the 20-lap Tracy Wheeler Storm Realty Sportsman Feature as Mathieu Boisvert and Mitch Primeau were running behind the #63 car. Herbison in the lead at halfway with Boisvert second with Corey Wheeler challenging Boisvert for that coveted position, he his able to do it with 8 laps to go and had his eyes on the leader but Herbison never let up the first place and captured his first win of the year over Wheeler, Boisvert Joey Ladouceur and Jason Shipclark.

What a finish in the Evans Bus Line Semi-Pro feature as Bruno Richard led 14 of the 15 laps but a car dropped liquids on the track and everybody slipped in turn 1, it was a race to the finish as Nicholas Gauvreau crossed the finish line first over Richard.

In the 20-lap TUSA Mod-Lite Feature, a severe accident occurred in the front stretch on lap 2 with Pascal Lafrenière landing on his roof and also involving Bailey McDonald. Stephane Raymond is the early leader as Paul Klager made his way to third. Klager grabbed the lead on lap 8 and never looked back to win his second feature over the weekend.

Several drivers swapped the lead in the 12-lap Baxtrom YIG Mini-Stock feature race as Brady Greer took the top spot at the halfway but got passed in the final turn by Joel Pilon and he became the first winner of the season.

Photo and Autograph was postponed to next Sunday night as the infield was too wet to have cars during intermission. A complete race program will be on the schedule.

For more information on the upcoming events at Cornwall, please visit the website at you can add us on Facebook at or on twitter at @cornwalspeedway, we will use these two Medias for contests over the next few weeks.

Jiffy Auto Services Modified Feature Results (30 laps)

Stephane Lafrance, Luke Whitteker, Laurent Ladouceur, Mario Clair, Chris Raabe, David Hebert, Joel Doiron, Brian McDonald, Fred Gamache, Clement Therrien, Kayle Robidoux, Justin Lalancette, Bruno Lepage, Michel Chicoine, Daniel Nadeau, Carey Terrance, Ryan Arbuthnot, Tim O'Brien, Gabriel Richer, Gilles Godard, Jeff Sykes, Kyle Dingwall, Marc Therrien, Alan Therrien

Tracy Wheeler Storm Realty Sportsman Feature Results (20 laps)

Chris Herbison, Corey Wheeler, Mathieu Boisvert, Joey Ladouceur, Jason Shipclark, Jenna David, Mitch Primeau, Steve Barber, Ronnie Tyo, Pat Dumouchel, Mike Maresca, Jessica Power, Alex Therrien, Eric Champagne, Steve Bernier, Cory Winters, Jon Mills, Mike Stacey, Thomas Cook, Louie Jackson jr, Adam Rozon, Dominic Doyon, Brian Comeau, Terry Ladouceur


Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock Feature Results (20 laps)

Dave Bissonnette, Roch Aubin, Jocelyn Roy, PJ Peters, Ryan Stabler, Ghislain Valade, Rosco Garreau, Eli Gilbert, Sean Johnson, Michel Desjardins, Jocelyn Chicoine, George Renaud, David Seguin, Claude Parisien, Charles-David Beauchamp, Marc Lalonde, Steve Johnston, Bruno Cyr, Stephane Lebrun, Daniel Desnoyers, Chris Tremblay


Evans Bus Line Semi-Pro Feature Results (15 laps)

Nicholas Gauvreau, Bruno Richard, Pascal Racette, Derek Cryderman, Steve Billings, Kevin Fetterly jr.,Marco Lalonde, Jonathan Galipeau, Adam Delormier, Anthony Perron, Junior Delormier, Wes Bilmer


Baxtrom's YIG Mini-Stock Feature Results (12 laps)

Joel Pilon, Brady Grrer, Mooise Page, Danny Lefebvre, Marc Matthias, Randy Tremblay, Marc Reggentin, Francis Blanchette, Marc Chartrand, Patrick Paquet, Pierre Robidoux, Francis Desjardins, Marc Dagenais, Elisabeth Gauthier, Chris James, Mike Gaucher, Francis Aborameh, Serge Langlois, Justin Desrosiers, Natacha Lebrun, Steve Morin


TUSA Mod-Lite Series Feature Results (15 laps)

Paul Klager, Eric Desilets, Scott Waldorff, Jeff May, Raphael Ferland, Rejean Lemieux, Dean Pronovost, Dan Ferguson, Karl Lavallee, Harley Brown, Richard Tessier, Dan Reif, Carl Lamontagne, Dave Bell, Martin Florest, Eric Varin, Dan Kviring, Stephane Raymond, Pascal Lafrenière, Mathieu Robinson, Bailey McDonald, Martin Parent, Stephane Bernier

From: Martin Belanger/ Cornwall Motor Speedway



Last modified on Monday, 10 June 2013 10:10
back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries