Charlie Sandercock, the 2018 NLMA Champion Charlie Sandercock, the 2018 NLMA Champion

Brighton Speedway Announces Second Season for Northeast Late Model Alliance

Written by  Angela Rinaldi on Friday, 14 December 2018 12:56

BRIGHTON, ON (December 14, 2018)- Just as we get ready to celebrate our top drivers from 2018, the track promoters that put the Vanderlaan Building Products NLMA together for the inaugural season are working on plans for season two!

Over $12,000.00 will be paid out to the top twelve drivers in 2018 points in the coming weeks and the NLMA is already making plans to try and improve on that for 2019.

Charlie Sandercock won the points championship by sweeping the season series in 2018 winning all six combined races. Between his race winnings and his $3,500.00 championship points fund check Sandercock will have earned over $14,000.00 in the first NLMA season.

Kyle Sopaz who kept the points battle close and still had a legitimate shot going into the final night wound up second and will pocket $1,750.00 in points fund money on top of his season earnings.Points fund money will be distributed among the top twelve drivers and was raised through generous sponsorships, driver registration fees and track participation fees. The complete payout is listed below.

For 2019, three of the four inaugural home tracks, Brighton Speedway, Fulton Speedway, and Humberstone Speedway have committed fully to the NLMA again for 2019 while Genesee Speedway will participate in a limited capacity and NLMA officials continue to look a schedule that showcases Dirt Late Model racing yet does not put a lot of added stress on the local race teams.

The NLMA saw an average of 23 cars per race across the six combined races and finished with a season high of 28 at Fulton on September 28th. “The basic formula was good for an inaugural season and we would really just like to build on that, by providing a manageable schedule, paying increased purses that make sense for the tracks and a good points fund. We are feeling very positive going into year two” states Brighton Speedway promoter Mark Rinaldi.

The promoters of Brighton Speedway, Fulton Speedway, Genesee Speedway and Humberstone Speedway would like to thank to sponsors of the Vanderlaan Building Products NLMA. Associate Sponsors include C. Smith Automotive Machine Shop, Deerhaven Farm and Garden, Bellevue Fabricating, Dibbits Landscape Supply and Excavating, Insta Panels and Willow Publishing.

To keep an eye out for the 2019 Vanderlaan Building Supply NLMA latest news and watch for the upcoming schedule be sure to follow and like out NLMA page at

2018 Vanderlaan Building Supplies NLMA top 12 Points Standings

Pos      Car #            Driver                       Home Track                       Total Points

1           57         Charlie Sandercock      Brighton Speedway                    398

2           12         Kyle Sopaz                 Brighton Speedway                    357

3          311        Sam Pennachio           Humberstone Speedway             305

4           29         Phillip Potts                Brighton Speedway                    288

5             0        John Pinsonneault        Humberstone Speedway             250

6           46        Brandon Mowat            Brighton Speedway                    246

7          R19       Dale Caswell                Fulton Speedway                       230

8             5        Steve Baldwin             Brighton Speedway                     222

9       1020xx     Andy Mayhew              Brighton Speedway                    199

10         89        Austin King                  Brighton Speedway                    196

10         09        Robbie Wilson              Brighton Speedway                    196

12         91        Chad Homan                Humberstone Speedway             192


back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries