NASCAR Pinty’s Series Statistical Advance: CTMP

NASCAR Pinty’s Series Statistical Advance: CTMP

Written by  NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications on Thursday, 19 May 2016 14:57

@NASCARHomeTrack •#NASCAR Pintys Series • @CTMPOfficial • DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 18, 2016) – The season opening race of the 2016 NASCAR Pinty’s Series season is set for Sunday with the Clarington 200 at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in Bowmanville, Ontario.

Below is a statistical look at the performance of the series and selected drivers at the track:

Clarington 200 Race Setup:
• Andrew Ranger will look to add to his record 20 series wins this weekend.
• D.J. Kennington’s mark of 4.0. is the best among all active drivers at the road course.
• A total of 10 rookies are slated to compete in the race this Sunday.

At Canadian Tire Motorsport Park:
• Opened in 1961 as Mosport Park. The name Mosport was a contraction of motor sport.
• Has played host to the American Le Mans Series, CASCAR Super Series, Can-Am, Formula 1, IndyCar, Tudor United SportsCar and USAC Champ Car, among others, through the years.
• Welcomed the NASCAR Pinty’s Series for the first time on June 17, 2007, in an event won by Andrew Ranger.
• Was renamed from Mosport International Raceway to Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in February 2012.
• Held its inaugural NASCAR Camping World Truck Series event on Sept. 1, 2013, won by Chase Elliott.

• CTMP has welcomed the NPS 12 times previously, the most events any track has held since the series began competition in 2007.
• This is the fourth season in a row that CTMP will hold two NPS road course events after single races there from 2007-12.
• Five drivers have participated in all 12 previous events, and three are expected to extend the streak this weekend with Jason Hathaway, D.J. Kennington and Kerry Micks.
• The 12 previous races have produced six different winners, led by J.R. Fitzpatrick’s five.
• There have been five different pole winners in the 11 contests, led by Andrew Ranger’s five.
• There has yet to be a wire-to-wire victory at CTMP, but both of Ranger’s wins were earned from the pole, as was Gary Klutt’s last May.
• Fitzpatrick was the youngest CTMP race winner at 20 years, 1 month and 6 days in 2008.
• L.P. Dumoulin was the oldest CTMP victor at 34 years, 6 months and 11 days in 2013.

Canadian Tire Motorsport Park Data
Race #: 1 of 12 overall, 1 of 2 at CTMP
Track Layout: 2.459-mile, 10-turn road course
Race Length: 51 laps (125.4 miles, 201.8 kilometers)

Qualifying/Race Data
2015 Race Winner: Gary Klutt, Dodge, 83.068 mph, 1 hr. 30 mins. 35 secs.
2015 Pole Winner: Gary Klutt, Dodge, 106.321 mph, 83.261 secs.
Qualifying Record: Andrew Ranger, Dodge, 106.712 mph, 82.956 secs., 5/18/14

Active Category Leaders at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park:
1. L.P. Dumoulin ... 2
Andrew Ranger ... 2
3. D.J. Kennington ... 1
Gary Klutt ... 1

1. Andrew Ranger ... 6
2. Scott Steckly ... 2
3. Gary Klutt ... 1

Top Fives
1. D.J. Kennington ... 10
2. Scott Steckly ... 6
L.P. Dumoulin ... 6
Andrew Ranger ... 5

Top 10s
1. D.J. Kennington ... 12
2. Andrew Ranger ... 8
3. Scott Steckly ... 7

Laps Led
1. Andrew Ranger ... 86
2. L.P. Dumoulin ... 53
3. Scott Steckly ... 34

Laps Completed
1. D.J. Kennington ... 608 (all)
2. Kerry Micks ... 590
3. Scott Steckly ... 505

Select Driver Highlights:
J.F. Dumoulin (No. 04 Bernier Crepeau/Bellemare Dodge)
• Has five top-five and 16 top 10s in 30 career starts with a best finish of third in the 2015 opener at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.
• Finished eighth in last year’s final season standings.
• This will be his sixth appearance at CTMP with two top fives and two top-10s.

L.P. Dumoulin (No. 47 WeatherTech Canada/Bellemare Dodge)
• The 2014 NPS Champion and 2011 Rookie of the Year has four wins, a pole, 24 top fives and 38 top 10s in 59 career starts.
• This will be his eighth appearance at CTMP with two wins, six top-five and seven top-10s.
• Finished fourth in last year’s final season standings.
• This will be his ninth appearance at CTMP.

Jason Hathaway (No. 3 Raybestos/Fast Eddie/Choko/HGC Chevrolet)
• Has eight wins and 68 top 10s in 109 career starts. Is one of three drivers that have participated in every race in NPS history.
• Finished a career-best second in last year’s final season standings.
• This will be his 13th appearance at CTMP with one win, two top-five and six top-10 finishes.

D.J. Kennington (No. 17 Castrol Edge Dodge)
• The 2010 and 2012 NPS champion. Maintains series records for top fives (73) and top 10s (90), and is one of three drivers to start each of the 109 all-time events. Also ranks second in series history in wins (19), laps led (2,791) and fifth in poles (11).
• Has a streak of 72-consecutive races without at DNF. Last DNF came at Riverside in 2009.
• Finished seventh in last year’s final season standings.
• Has one win, a series best 10 top-five and 12 top-10 finishes in his previous 12 appearances at CTMP.

Gary Klutt (No. 59 Pioneer Tools/CLT Financing Corp.Dodge)
• Has a win, two poles and 10 top 10s in 17 career NPS starts.
• Finished fifth in last year’s final season standings winning Josten’s Rookie of the Year honors.
• Won this race last season and also has scored three top-10s in his sixth appearance at CTMP.

Alex Labbe (No. 36 Cam-Am/Kappa/Cyclops Gear/Lou’s BBQ Ford)
• Has seven top 10s in 14 career NPS starts with a best finish of second at Riverside in 2014 and at Chaudiere in 2015.
• Has top-10 finishes in three of his five appearances this year.
• Has five top 10s with an average finish of 13th in eight career road course starts.
• This will be his first start at CTMP. He was unable to take the green flag in May due to injury.

Kevin Lacroix (No. 74 Bumper To bumper/Total/Lacroix Tuning Dodge)
• Has two wins in five starts during his debut season. Won road races at Circuit ICAR and Circuit de Trois-Rivieres.
• Is the first driver in series history to win two of his first four starts, and first to record two victories in rookie season.
• Finished 15th in last year’s final season standings.
• This will be his third appearance at CTMP.

Kerry Micks (No. 02 Johnsonville/Leland/BDI Ford)
• Has three wins, four poles, 30 top fives and 52 top 10s in 85 career starts.
• The three road races are his only previous starts this year. Best finish was 14th in the CTMP opener.
• Has two wins, a pole, 21 top 10s and an average finish of 10.5 in 37 career road course starts.
• Has participated in all 11 CTMP races and has an average finish of 13th with a best run of second (2008).

Andrew Ranger (No. 27 Mopar/Pennzoil Dodge)
• The 2007 and 2009 champion is the series’ all-time leader in wins at 20 and is tied for the poles record at 16. Has 49 top fives and 70 top 10s in 83 career starts.
• Finished third in last year’s final season standings.
• Has a pair of wins, five top-five and eight top-10 finishes with a series best six pole awards in 10 previous starts at CTMP.

Other Driver Notes
• Pier-Luc Oullette finished eighth in his only other career start in this race last year at CTMP, returns again this season to fill in for Alex Tagliani.
• Cayden Lapcevich has two starts at CTMP with one top-10 finish coming last fall at the track.

Contact: Tim Southers- NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications
(386) 235-3634
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries