Merrittville Speedway Awards Banquet 2015 Merrittville Speedway

Merrittville Speedway Awards Banquet 2015 Featured

Written by  Jim Irvine on Tuesday, 01 December 2015 23:02

@Merrittville • @Pintysfoods • @Lucas_Oil • THOROLD, ON - Merrittville Speedway’s 64th consecutive season officially came to a close with the Night of Champions Saturday November 28th honoring the 2015 Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series Champions and other award recipients.

Chad Brachmann of Sanborn, NY and Mark Fawcett of Canfield Ontario both took home top honors for the second time in their careers in the Pinty’s Delicious Foods 358 Modified and Hoosier Stock Divisions respectively.

Two drivers would be honored with their first career championship – Port Colborne’s Rob Goulding in the Van Raine Construction 4 Cylinder and Gary Lindberg of Ridgeway in the Rick’s Delivery Sportsman Divisions.

Josh Sliter also of Ridgeway was awarded the Rev’s Full Throttle Powersports Modified Lite Title for the fifth time in his career.

Merrittville’s Co-announcers Dana Curvin and Brett Wood performed Masters of Ceremony duties – presenting the top 12 points finishers from each division with point fund monies in addition to a wide variety of special awards.

Lindberg’s 9 win season led to the second generation driver being named Performer of the Year.

His win total included a victory in the David Chevrolet King of the Crates Mini-Series in which he won as well in 2015 in his He's Not HereBar & Grill/Mr. Topsoil & Mike/Tidy Terra/Zimmerman Electric/Zimmerman Contracting/Erie Shores Contracting/Prospect Sports/Pro-Fit Health Club/Milos Krtek-Royal LePage/John Bevan/Mase Race/Muro Plumbing/On The Road Machining/Westdale Display/E. P. Machine and Industrial #28.

After finishing in the runner up spot last season to first time Champion Mat Williamson, Brachmann who won his first title in 2008 earned the first for car owner Norm Ellsworth of St. Catharines.

Driving the Rev’s Full Throttle Powersports/Castle Mechanical/Bellamy’s Towing/LKQ Niagara/Pine View Drywall/Turn 4 Collision #3 - Brachmann collected 3 wins and 12 top 5 finishes.

Last season, there were just 6 points separating the top 3 spots en route to Mark Fawcett’s first Hoosier Stock championship. In running to a second straight title in 2015 – Fawcett came out on top almost 150 points up on third. 

This run to the Championship had Fawcett earning 7 wins and 19 top 10 finishes in 19 starts in his Sticker-It Signs & Graphics … Hanks Auto Body … Champion Oil … Gale's Auto Aftermarket located in Six Nations … Muay Thai Niagara … Wix Filters … Jerry's Union House/Pete's Pizza … Parkway Lanes … Wildgoose Performance … SP Motorsports … Niagara Custom Signs & Graphics … D & S Automotive and Cars & Parts Auto Recycling & Sales #32.

Josh Sliter’s fifth Championship in the Rev’s Full Throttle Powersports Modified Lite Division saw him rack up 15 Top 5 finishes in 16 events. Sliter would park his Niagara Falls Nissan/Crutchfield Performance/Thurston Machine # 17 in Victory Lane 7 times.

Rob Goulding’s first career Championship in the Van Raine Construction 4 Cylinder Division came from 15 Top 10 finishes including two wins in hisC&L Auto Wreckers/St. Catharines Husky/Automotive Warehouse/Seaway Trailers #1G.

All 5 division champs earned traditional Merrittville Speedway Championship Rings and Jackets in addition to trophies and cash awards.

Special Awards:

Brian Teeple, (Van Raine Construction 4 Cylinder Division), Steven Beckett, (Rev’s Full Throttle Powersports Modified Lite Division), Dave Bailey, (Hoosier Stock Division) and Chris Storm, (Rick’s Delivery Sportsman Division) received 2015 Rookie of the Year Awards. There were no Rookie drivers in the Pinty’s Delicious Foods 358 Modified Division in 2015.

Lucas Oil Slick Mist Best Appearing Car Awards were presented to Kyle Rothwell, (Van Raine Construction 4 Cylinder Division), Dylan Davidson, (Rev’s Full Throttle Powersports Modified Lite Division), Kevin Knapp, (Hoosier Stock Division), Jay Mallory, ( Rick’s Delivery Sportsman Division) and Fred Carleton, (Pinty’s Delicious Foods 358 Modified Division).

Several history-laden awards were also presented during the event.

The Ed MacPherson Construction Kelley-Winger Sportsmanship Award was presented by the Merrittville Speedway Reunion Committee to Welland’s Joey Mastroianni of the Rick’s Delivery Sportsman Division.

The Begolo-Little Award for the most improved driver in the 358 Modified Division went to Mark D’Ilario, 6th in the Pinty’s Delicious Foods Divisional Standings.

Ray Sliter Jr was presented the 2nd Annual Pete Cosco Car Owner of the Year Award by inaugural Winner Linda Cosco.

Sliter – a racer himself was instrumental in his son Josh’s 5th Modified Lite title in addition to the efforts of team-mates Rob Misener, Jamie Gilbert and RJ Pietz while serving on integral role in the Southern Ontario Mod Lite Racing Association.

The award initiated last season by former Cosco Racing Driver Chris Steele and his wife Sami honors the memory of Pete Cosco who passed away late in the 2014 season.

The Gordie Award named after former Merrittville Announcer and Wall of Famer Gordie Wilson goes to a person, or group of people who exhibit dedication to the sport.

The 2015 recipient grew up in the sport as a fan before becoming a driver before his involvement as a sponsor and car owner over the years through his company Rick’s Delivery.

The winner was Rick Bellante of Welland with Brad Rouse accepting on his behalf as Bellante and his wife Sam were away on their honeymoon.

The Billy Matthews Crew Chief of Year Award went to Paul Lindberg who led his brother Gary to the 2015 Sportsman Championship. Gary was also named the Performer of the Year.

Fawcett’s second straight Hoosier Stock title led to being named the Archer Truck Centre Driver of the Year.

Pinty’s Delicious Foods 358 Modified Division Top 12 in Points.

Chad Brachmann – 1049, Pete Bicknell – 1008, Mat Williamson – 990, Mike Bowman – 974, Billy Dunn – 941, Mark D’Ilario – 936, Scott Wood – 929, Tommy Flannigan – 926, Tim Jones – 917, Tyler McPherson – 900, Bill Bleich – 872, Fred Carleton – 845.

Rick’s Delivery Sportsman Division Top 12 in Points.

Gary Lindberg – 1092. Brad Rouse – 966 Chad Chevalier – 956, Cody McPherson – 945, Paul Gaboury – 916, Brent Begolo – 858,  Jay Mallory – 852, James Friesen – 850, Rob Knapp – 825, Austin Wood – 805, Justin Sharp & Jason Moore (tie) – 797.

Hoosier Stock Division Top 12 in Points .

Mark Fawcett – 1034, Dave Bailey – 912, Jim Lampman – 888, Billy Bleich, Jr., - 862, Kevin Knapp – 802, Kyle Pelrine – 789, Pete Reid – 626, Chris Crawford – 588, Rob Murray – 578 , Jason Fontaine – 571, Ed McLean – 250, Chris Schneider – 246.

J&S Heating and Air Conditioning Modified Lite Division Top 12 in Points.

Josh Sliter – 896, Rob Misener – 844, Jamie Gilbert – 758, Dylan Davidson – 702, Jeff May – 698, RJ Pietz – 690, Steven Beckett – 658, Ray Sliter, Jr. – 622, Chris Watson – 596, Marty deMoel – 564, Kellie Mason – 470, Paul Klager – 412.

Turn 4 Collision 4 Cylinder Division Top 12 in Points.

Robert Goulding 910, Tyler Lafantaisie – 889, Kyle Haynes – 866, Kyle Rothwell – 810, Sam Iftody – 727, Alex Riley – 693, Jeremy Smith – 669, Mike Sadusek – 654, Kourtney Kocarik – 612, Mike Giberson – 550, Brian ‘Go Fast’ Teeple – 534. 

For a complete listing of the 2015 Points Standings – click on

Last modified on Tuesday, 01 December 2015 23:13
back to top