2013 NHRA World Champions Honoured at Awards Ceremony

2013 NHRA World Champions Honoured at Awards Ceremony

Written by  on Tuesday, 12 November 2013 10:10

CENTURY CITY, CA – A trio of multi-time world-championship winners, John Force, Jeg Coughlin and Matt Smith, were joined by first-time winner Shawn Langdon as the headliners who were crowned Monday evening during the 2013 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series awards ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in West Los Angeles.

The four drivers were honored for their season-long achievements and presented with checks and trophies for winning 2013 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series world championship titles during the Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship, NHRA's playoffs.

Southern California native Langdon achieved a lifelong dream by winning his first Top Fuel championship. The 31-year-old racer who has now won championships at every level of racing in NHRA, captured the title at the end of qualifying during the season-ending race in Pomona, Calif. The driver of the Al-Anabi Racing dragster raced to a category-best seven victories, including Sunday's Auto Club NHRA Finals at Pomona, to score the $500,000 top prize from NHRA and Mello Yello.

NHRA icon Force celebrated his record 16th world championship title when he clinched it at the season's penultimate event in Las Vegas at the controls of his 8,000-horsepower Castrol GTX Ford Mustang. Force got hot in the Countdown playoffs, winning three consecutive races in five straight final round appearances in the six-race postseason. At 64, Force continues to be the oldest world champion in NHRA history. The Yorba Linda, Calif. driver earns $500,000 from NHRA and Mello Yello for the championship.

Coughlin, 43, earned his fifth Pro Stock world championship and gave Dodge its second consecutive series title and sixth overall. He drove the JEGS.com/Mopar Dodge Avenger to four victories in eight final rounds and held off a tough group of challengers down the stretch including Jason Line, Mike Edwards and defending champ Allen Johnson. Two of Coughlin's victories came during the Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship playoffs. The Columbus, Ohio driver, who becomes only the eighth NHRA driver to win five titles, was awarded $250,000 for the series title from NHRA and Mello Yello.

Smith, 41, earned his second world-championship title in Pro Stock Motorcycle by racing to four victories in eight final rounds on his Viper Motorcycle Company Buell, including three victories in four consecutive finals during the Countdown playoffs. Smith joined his father Rickie, who won the Pro Mod Series title, as NHRA champions this season. It is the first time a father and son have won NHRA championships in the same season. The King, N.C. rider was awarded $75,000 from NHRA and Mello Yello for the championship.

Top Fuel driver Brittany Force was named the winner of the $20,000 Automobile Club of Southern California Road to the Future Award, which recognizes the top NHRA rookie of the year. Force won 10 rounds of competition, including a season best semifinal performance at the season-ending Auto Club NHRA Finals at Pomona. She also led qualifying on Friday and Saturday at the prestigious Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis. The driver of the Castrol Edge dragster received the award following voting from a panel of the nation's top motorsports journalists. She becomes the fifth driver from the John Force Racing stable to win the coveted award, joining teammates Robert Hight and Courtney Force and former team drivers Mike Neff and Ashley Force Hood. The other candidates in the very strong rookie class were Adam Arana, Chad Head, Leah Pruett, Sidnei Frigo and Billy Torrence.

For the sixth time overall and third year in a row, Ford was named the NHRA Manufacturers Cup winner. In addition to the last three seasons, Ford also won NHRA Manufacturers Cup titles in 1964, 1965 and 1982. Funny Car racers John and Courtney Force, Robert Hight, Bob Tasca III, Tim Wilkerson and Pro Stock racer Larry Morgan, along with NHRA Lucas Oil Series drivers Bo Butner, Drew Skillman and Sal Biondo, among others, led the winning effort for Ford.

Drivers in seven categories in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series also were recognized as 2013 world champions: Jim Whiteley (Top Alcohol Dragster), Frank Manzo (Top Alcohol Funny Car), Alan Ellis (Competition Eliminator), Byron Worner (Super Stock), Justin Lamb (Stock Eliminator), Luke Bogacki (Super Comp) and Rick Beckstrom (Super Gas).

The 2013 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series awards ceremony will be available in its entirety to fans worldwide on the Internet on Wednesday, Nov. 13 at NHRA.com and the NHRA channel on YouTube.

From Anthony Vestal / NHRA


Last modified on Tuesday, 12 November 2013 10:19
back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries