Frank Elias claimed the first Northern Shootout win at ALH Motor Speedway Frank Elias claimed the first Northern Shootout win at ALH Motor Speedway photo: courtesy Team 27 Racing

Divine Drive Nets Frank Elias Big Win

Written by  on Monday, 12 August 2013 13:27

MORDEN, MB (August 11, 2013) Frank Elias drove the race of his life and netted a cool $1,000.00 first prize money as he became the first winner of the Northern Lightning Sprint Association's Northern Shootout at Morden, Manitoba's ALH Motor Speedway on Sunday evening.

He started by having the fastest lap in qualifying, followed by a dominating performance in his heat race. Elias then proceeded to win the Pole Dash, earning himself the pole position for the feature.

This was truly Frank Elais' finest hour as a racer.

Elias dominated and drove the Chris Unrau #27 Lightning Sprint into Victory Lane but under difficult circumstances.  

Earlier in the week, the Unrau family was torn by the loss of two family members.  In their memory, a sign was displayed on the #27's wing which read, "You have fought the good fight, you have finished the race. Forever in our hearts, Barry and Zack."

In 2006, Carrie Underwood recorded a song entitled Jesus, Take The Wheel.  On this night when everything ran to perfection for Frank Elias and team Unrau, one gets the feeling that He may very well have done just that.

Sometimes all you need is a positive sign to make a bad day better.

For the Unrau's, witnessing this Devine drive of their car came at just the right time.

For NLSA president Chris Unrau and the members of the Northern Lightning Sprint Association, this day was a sign of hope for a better tomorrow.

Rounding up the top five were Frank Elias, Roland Bernard, Brent Steg, Murray Temple and Al Giesbrecht.

The next scheduled racing action for the NLSA will be Monday, August 12 at Red River Co-op Speedway. Start time is 7:30pm.

Northern Lightning Sprint Association

ALH Motor Speedway, Morden, MB


Sunday, August 11, 2013


1. 27 Frank Elias

2. 13 Al Giesbrecht

3. 14 Edward Bell

4. 7S Brent Steg

5. 12 Brayden Pengilly


1. 35W Wally Butler

2. 2 Roland Bernard

3. 43 Robert Livingstone

4. 22 Ted Doell

5. 96 Jared Kalynuik (DNF)


1. 33 Murray Temple

2. 11 Dexter Dvergsten

3. 16 Kyle Cole

4. 31 Rodney Banman

5. 17 Jesse Giesbrecht (DNF)


1. 27 Frank Elias

2. 2 Roland Bernard

3. 7S Brent Steg

4. 33 Murray Temple

5. 13 Al Giesbrecht

6. 14 Edward Bell

7. 96 Jared Kalynuik

8.  35W Wally Butler

9.  43 Robert Livingstone

10. 12 Brayden Penally

11. 31 Rodney Banman

12. 16 Kyle Cole

13. 11 Dexter Dvergsten(DNF)

14. 22 Ted Doell(DNF)

15. 17 Jessie Giesbrecht(DNF)

About the Northern Lightning Sprint Association:

Created in September of 2008, the Northern Lightning Sprint Association is a rapidly growing organization committed to the creation and maintenance of safe, fast, fun, and affordable open wheel racing. Many of the organization's members are dedicated to helping charities such as the Children's Hospital Foundation and Cancer Care of Manitoba. More information can be found at

From: Greg Cybulski/ NLSA



Last modified on Monday, 12 August 2013 13:36
back to top