Chris Unrau won his second consecutive Northern Lightning Sprints Association feature at Red River Co Op Speedway Chris Unrau won his second consecutive Northern Lightning Sprints Association feature at Red River Co Op Speedway photo: Kaz Grafix

Unrau Wins Back-To-Back

Written by  on Tuesday, 09 July 2013 08:08

WINNIPEG, MB (July 8, 2013) Winkler, Manitoba's Chris Unrau was grinning ear-to-ear following his second feature win in as many nights before an enthusiastic crowd at Red River Co-op Speedway on Monday night.  The Northern Lighting Sprint Association president turned in another strong performance, earning a well-deserved trip to victory lane.

In heat race action, Dylan Sabatini lead the field of Lightning Sprints into turn 1 with the #14 of Edward Bell in hot pursuit.  Midway through the 8 lap heat, Bell dove to the bottom of turn 4 to take the lead from Sabatini. Bell distanced himself from his competitors and built up a comfortable lead when the checkered flag waved.

In the feature, Chris Unrau took advantage of his pole position to grab an early lead. He maintained a solid lead over Robert Livingstone and Edward Bell who kept the leader in their sights until the closing laps when Robert Livingstone made a charge and closed the distance between himself and the race leader.

Livingstone would run out of laps as the checkered flag waved and Chris Unrau would claim yet another checkered flag in the month of July.

Rounding up the top 5 were Chris Unrau, Robert Livingstone, Edward Bell, Brandon Rehill and Dylan Sabatini.

Amber Balcaen's 35W WB Racing Lighting Sprint began smoking when her motor blew during hot laps leaving her without a car to compete for the evening.  She was, however, able to earn points in the feature by taking the green flag and turning a couple of laps before being black flagged and sent to the pits.

The next scheduled racing action for the NLSA will be Monday, July 15 at Red River Co-op Speedway. Start time is 7:30pm.


Northern Lightning Sprint Association-

Red River Co-op Speedway, Winnipeg, MB- Monday, July 8, 2013


1. 14 Edward Bell

2. 27 Chris Unrau

3. 43 Robert Livingstone

4. 29 Dylan Sabatini

5. 4B Brandon Rehill

6. 35W Amber Balcaen (DNS)

NLSA Feature:

1. 27 Chris Unrau

2. 43 Robert Livingstone

3. 14 Edward Bell

4. 4B Brandon Rehill

5. 29 Dylan Sabatini

6. 35W Amber Balcaen (DNF)

About the Northern Lightning Sprint Association: Created in September of 2008, the Northern Lightning Sprint Association is a rapidly growing organization committed to the creation and maintenance of safe, fast, fun, and affordable open wheel racing. Many of the organization's members are dedicated to helping charities such as the Children's Hospital Foundation and Cancer Care of Manitoba. More information can be found at

From: Greg Cybulski/ NLSA Director of Media Relations

Cell: +1(204)798-5461


back to top