Delaware Speedway Sets Up For A DoubleHeader Weekend Highlighted by the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series

Delaware Speedway Sets Up For A DoubleHeader Weekend Highlighted by the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series

Written by  on Thursday, 13 June 2013 08:56

June 12, 2013- One of the biggest race weekends of the year has arrived at Delaware Speedway just outside of London, ON, with the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series coming to town. Local racing will run on Friday night with the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series running on Saturday evening as local driver DJ Kennington (#17) of St. Thomas will defend his home track victory and national title. Racing on Friday gets underway at 7:30 pm, the Nascar Canadian Tire Series runs on Saturday at 7:00 pm.

From Daytona Beach- The NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 makes its annual visit to Delaware (Ont.) Speedway for the first oval-track race in 2013. The EMCO 200 is set to take the green flag at 7 p.m. ET on Saturday, June 15. Below is a statistical look at the recent performance of selected drivers at Delaware, as well as some other statistical trends:

Delaware Speedway Race Setup
• D.J. Kennington has been dominant in winning three of the four Delaware races and leading a series-best 392 laps which is 47.7 percent of the total laps run.
• Scott Steckly has three top-five finishes in four starts at the track with an average finish of 5.8 and runner-up finishes in each of the last two seasons.
• Jason Hathaway has top-10 finishes in each of his last three Delaware starts with his best finish of third coming a year ago.
• Points leader L.P. Dumoulin has just one Delaware start – 10th-place finish in 2012 – under his belt.

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series At Delaware Speedway
• This is the series' fifth visit to the half-mile oval in Southern Ontario.
• Dodge has earned all four wins and starts from the pole.
• There has been an average of 8.5 caution periods for an average of 65 laps in the four prior races with the earliest coming at Lap 2 in 2010 and the latest at Lap 210 in 2009 during attempts at a green-white-checkered finish.
• The average starting position of the winner is 3.5, while the pole sitter has an average finish of ninth.
• The most laps led by a race winner are 130 by D.J. Kennington in 2010 and the fewest is 46 by Don Thomson Jr. in 2011.
• There has been an average of 10.25 lead changes in the four events.
• Two of the four events have gone beyond the 200-lap advertised distance, but each of the last two races ended at the scheduled 200-lap mark.
• The race's television premieres are scheduled for Sunday, June 23 at 1 p.m. ET on TSN and Monday, July 8 at 9 p.m. ET on RDS2.


The NASCAR Canadian Tire Series weekend has arrived! Although Canada's Top National Touring Series is in the spotlight this weekend, the weekly division stars of Delaware Speedway are out in force. Let's take a look at what we can expect from the local divisions:

The FT Garage Late Models now have three races in the books and a number of probable top runners are emerging from the power rankings for this Friday night. Jamie Cox (#22) of Dorchester was strong out of the gate earning a pair of wins in the opening events. Jay Doerr (#43) of London got into the action last Friday with a win of his own after some nasty competition in the heat races that left Jay with some critical words for his competitors, seemingly directed at Matt Pritiko (#21) of London for his involvement in a heat race crash. Pritiko, for his part, has been giving it all he's got, pushing hard for a win on opening night (and being denied with a spin), finishing second in week two, but now languishing with a ninth place finish in the most recent event hurting his ranking. Shawn Thompson (#72) of Ailsa Craig has been solid and has not finished outside the top-5 in the three races this season.


1. 22 Jamie Cox of Dorchester
2. 43 Jay Doerr of London
3. 25 Cole Powell of Mt. Brydges
4. 72 Shawn Thompson of Ailsa Craig
5. 21 Matt Pritiko of London

Racing Friday night Matt Robblee (#51) of Dorchester controls the Coca-Cola Super Stock rankings this week. With a feature win on opening night backed up with a second place finish in round two Robblee has earned his spot as top contender in the division. Kenny McNicol Jr. (#17) of Exeter took the win in the most recent points race and also claimed victory in the rained-shortened invitational. Watch for defending champion Jeff Showler (#44) of Mt. Elgin to try to regain some of that championship magic here early in the season. Shae Gemmell (#3) of Dorchester also gets an honorable mention as the rookie finds himself on the power ranking chart this week.

1. 51 Matt Robblee
2. 17 Kenny McNicol Jr
3. 44 Jeff Showler
4. 77 Darrell Lake
5. 3 Shae Gemmell (R)

Gary Adriaensen (#55) of Belmont is finding out just how lonely it is at the top of the pyramid. The defending champion is experiencing what every racer believes is their goal: winning races and beating the other drivers. For Adriaensen, however, his victories this season have felt oddly hollow with no driver yet able to challenge him directly on the track. Perhaps more than wins what a true racer wants is a challenge? Brady Smith (#39) was able to take Adriaensen down a bit of a peg last Friday with a victory in the feature as Adriaensen was off the track with mechanical issues. Trevor Collover was in a position to capitalize on Adriaensen's issues last week but had transmission problems on his truck. Adriaensen himself has said in past interviews that he believes sophomore driver Collver is likely to be his biggest challenge on the track, but only if he can overcome mechanical and setup issues that have dogged him though the early part of the season.

The lineup for this week's event is being set by time trials and the trucks will be joined by the V8 Stocks for the competition. Steve Book (#64) of Brantford had things working well last week passing a number of trucks on the high side. The V8 stocks have had a full week to get their stuff together and come back for more this Saturday. Here's a look at the truck power rankings:


1. 55 Gary Adriaensen
2. 39 Brady Smith
3. 7 Piet Blaauboerr
4. 6 James Marche
5. 51 Trevor Collver

Media Contact: John Houghton/ Delaware Speedway PR

(519) 652-5068 x 201 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Last modified on Thursday, 13 June 2013 09:07
back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries