The NPP Late Model Series Begins the 2013 Campaign with a Doubleheader Weekend

The NPP Late Model Series Begins the 2013 Campaign with a Doubleheader Weekend

Written by  on Thursday, 06 June 2013 11:06

EDMONTON, AB – The long off-season comes to an end this weekend for drivers and teams of the Northern Provincial Pipelines Late Model Series. This Saturday and Sunday, the 13th consecutive race season kicks off with a double-header weekend at two tracks.

Castrol Raceway (Edmonton, Alberta) will host the NPP Late Model Series on Saturday night, June 8th. Less than twenty-four hours later, the season opening weekend wraps up at Central Alberta Raceways (Rimbey, Alberta) Sunday afternoon, June 9th. Whitecourt, Alberta's Kevin Wheeler is looking at becoming the first repeat champion in the NPP Late Model Series. It's a feat that hasn't been accomplished since the 2003, 2004 seasons by three-time champion Trevor Emond.

"My crew and I have already been talking about it [repeating]," admits the driver of the KW Mechanical #3 Dodge, "a few sponsors and friends have already phoned as well asking if I can do it again." Wheeler wrapped up the 2012 season with a win and a third in Kindersley, Saskatchewan which propelled him to his first ever NPP Series Championship. "This is the hardest Series I've ever raced in. We wrapped up last season on a strong note and there is no reason we can't start this season the same way."

Of the 12 NPP Series Championships awarded since 2001, six of the champions won the first race of the season. Bruce Broughton was one of those drivers. The Stony Plain, Alberta racer won the 2010 season opener in Edmonton and would go on to win the 2010 NPP Series Championship. "It's always nice to start off the points chase with a win." Broughton has 8 NPP Series Feature wins and 32 top-five finishes in 79 NPP Series starts. "We've always done well in Edmonton and we won our last race at Rimbey last year."

Since his race debut midway through the 2006 season, Wheeler has three Feature wins and 30 top-five finishes in 64 NPP Series starts. "Getting wins is extremely tough in this Series. You have to do your homework. If you don't, you're done. You need to hit your marks in the corners and you need a lot of luck as well." With Feature wins in Elma, Washington, Lethbridge, Alberta and Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Wheeler has yet to register a NPP Series Feature win at either the Edmonton or Rimbey track. "I hope to change that this weekend."

Two-time NPP Series champion Dwight Kennedy has won the first race of the season twice (2001 & 2008). The Edson, Alberta driver won the 2001 season opener and would win the inaugural 2001 NPP Series Championship. In 2008 Kennedy finished second in points. "You can't be slow out of the gate," exclaims the founder of the NPP Late Model Series, "because our race seasons are so short, you need to start [the season] out strong and carry that momentum to every race."

Northern Provincial Pipelines Ltd., based in Edson, Alberta, is the title sponsor of the NPP Late Model Series which brings big league racing to motorsports fans in Western Canada.

From: Gord Craig/ Announcer- NPP Late Model Series


Last modified on Thursday, 06 June 2013 11:12
back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries