OHSWEKEN: Styres, Myres, Hughes and Checkalk win on Norfolk Co. Night Photo courtesy of Dale Calnan/ImageFactor.ca

OHSWEKEN: Styres, Myres, Hughes and Checkalk win on Norfolk Co. Night

Written by  on Monday, 30 July 2012 13:04
Glenn Styres lost the lead in the Corr/Pak Merchandising Sprint Car division standings a few weeks ago, but showed he's still in the title fight with a feature win on July 27 at Ohsweken Speedway during Norfolk County Night presented by Best Western Cairn Croft Hotel.
Jack Myers bested the Lighthouse Tattoos Thunder Stocks field for a second consecutive week, while Jeremy Hughes did the same in a non-stop HRW Automotive Mini Stock feature, and Max Chechalk went back to the Engine Pro Racing Winner's Circle after the Pierced Parts Bombers feature.

Shane Ross and Kyle Patrick began the Sprint Car feature on the front row, and Ross got the lead before a caution flag flew with just one lap on the board. Glenn Styres, Jamie Turner, and Zach Zumpe all had trouble in the early going, and Styres restarted 20th after the first stoppage. Another yellow flag came out on lap 4 when Jamie Collard got sideways in turn 4, collecting Mikey Kruchka and Kyle Moffit. All three stayed on the track, and the race went green again, but only briefly - Collard and Travis Cunningham tangled on lap 6, followed by problems on the restart for Kyle Patrick, who stopped on the backstretch with a broken front end.

Chris Steele slipped by Ross for the lead just before the caution flag on lap 6, while Styres had gained significant ground between breaks in the action. The final 13 laps of the race went caution-free, and Styres was up to the runner-up spot on lap 11, and around Steele and into the lead just 2 laps later. Steele was left to contest the runner-up spot with Tom Huppunen, and eventually settled for third.

Styres crossed the line more than four seconds ahead of Huppunen, who took the runner-up spot by less than a tenth of a second over Steele. Kyle Moffit took the fourth spot after restarting 21st on lap 4, and Dave Dykstra took the 5th spot.

"I started in 13th and then I got run off the end of the track, and I think I was pretty close to last," said Styres after the race. "To come from the back to the front in 20 laps, that's incredible. I'm ready for Tony Stewart now - I'm going to kick his butt!"

Heat races for the 26-car field were claimed by Jamie Collard, Tom Huppunen, and Keith Dempster, while Dain Naida won the B-Main.

Derek Miller and Robbie General led the field to the green flag in the Thunder Stock feature, and Miller held his own near the front of the pack before a flat tire ended his night. Jack Myers entered the evening as a driver to beat, having won two features in the last three weeks. He proved those wins were no fluke as he drove to the front from row 6 to win for the second week in a row. Mike Thorne, Wyatt Van Wart, Lee Winger, and Cory Turner chased Myers to the line after an entertaining race for the runner-up spot.

"I just find that I can hit it right, and it hooks and it goes," said Myers in the winner's circle. "I'm hoping I can pull off another one to make it three in a row. I know there's going to be a lot of invaders coming from the local tracks around the region, so I'll just do my best."

Heat races for the 31-car field went to Derek Miller, Cory Turner, Mike Thorne, and Wyatt Van Wart, while Terry Martin won the B-Main.

John Cote led early in the Mini Stock feature, but Jeremy Hughes was the class of the field on this night. Hughes drove his sister Laura's car after his own machine went up in flames as he crossed the finish line first the previous week. The Burlington driver quickly made his way to the front from the 8th row, and never looked back as he drove to win number 3 on the season. Karl Sault made his way through the field to finish second, followed by Doug Erskine, Mike Taylor, and points leader Mike Evers.

"(Laura) wanted me to get out and do it since we're pretty close in points," Jeremy said afterwards. "That was interesting. That track was really slick unless you were almost going over the top groove."

Heat races for the 27-car field were claimed by John Cote, Jason Lungaro, and Mike Taylor, while Steve Hess won the B-Main.

Lee Hils had the early lead in the Bomber feature, and it looked for awhile like the 2008 champion of the division would get back to the winner's circle, but current championship leader Max Chechalk had other ideas. The young driver moved through the field from the 6th row, and went on to win his 4th feature of the season. Hils settled for second, followed by 9th row starter Davey Boughton, Dusty DeBoer, and Brady Longboat.

"Last week the 5 people right behind me in points actually beat me," Chechalk said after his win. "I came 6th and that really bunched up the points a lot. It makes this series interesting. I'd like to thank whoever groomed the track tonight. It was amazing. It felt really fast."

Heat races for the 18-car field were claimed by Mark Bazuin and Jeremy May.

Three big nights of racing in one week kick off Monday, July 30 as Ohsweken Speedway presents "Tony Stewart at Ohsweken", featuring Corr/Pak Merchandising Sprint Cars, Lighthouse Tattoos Thunder Stocks, HRW Automotive Mini Stocks, and Pierced Parts Bombers.

Tuesday, July 31, features the return of the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series for the annual "Six Nations Showdown", with NASCAR champ Tony Stewart looking to defend his win in last year's WoO event at Ohsweken. Friday Night Thunder returns to Ohsweken on August 3 when HRW Automotive presents the Art Hill Memorial for the HRW Automotive Mini Stocks, plus Corr/Pak Merchandising Sprint Cars, Lighthouse Tattoos Thunder Stocks, Pierced Parts Bombers, and the annual Ohsweken Speedway Hot Dog Eating Contest. Racing begins at 7:45p.m. each night at Ohsweken.

From Tommy Goudge

back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries