Stellar field expected for Pro Stock Tour season opener at Scotia Speedworld

Stellar field expected for Pro Stock Tour season opener at Scotia Speedworld

Written by  on Thursday, 17 May 2012 16:06

The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour is kicking off a new season on Sunday at the CARQUEST 100! Scotia Speedworld, located just outside of Halifax, will host the Season Opener. Over 30 teams from across the Maritimes have registered for the 2012 season and event organizers are expecting an exceptional field for Sunday's festivities, including special guest, Cassius Clark of Farmington, ME.

Advance tickets for the CARQUEST 100 are on sale now at Ticket Atlantic and will also be available at the gate on race day. Grandstands at Scotia Speedworld open at 1:00 pm; Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials will get underway at 3:10 pm with racing slated for 4:00 pm. Weather permitting fans will also be invited onto the track for an autograph session with the drivers of the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour.

It's going to be a great season for the popular stock car touring series and their fans. 2012 will see the return of all five past champions of the series, who hold 12 Pro Stock Tour championships between them. John Flemming (Halifax, NS) who took the title twice in 2002 and 2006. Shawn Tucker (Fredericton, NB) who took the crown in 2004, 2007 and 2010. 2003 champ Rollie MacDonald (Pictou, NS), 2009 champion Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS) and five-time and current series champion Wayne Smith (Timberlea, NS). All but Smith, who plans on running a limited schedule, will vie for another title this season.

2010 Atlantic Cat 250 champion Cassius Clark (Farmington, ME) will be making a trip across the border to pilot the No. 13 machine of Rollie MacDonald. Clark, a PASS North series regular will sit in for a bruised up MacDonald for the Season Opener and should be a contender for the win at Sunday's CARQUEST 100.

Enter the Exide Batteries "Rookie" field -one of the largest in series history. These rookies have racing resumes that would indicate they are anything but rookies behind the wheel of a racecar. Six rookies will attempt to make the starting field for the CARQUEST 100 including; Brad Eddy (Sackville, NS), Frankie Fraser (Shubenacadie, NS), Steve Ross (Waverly, NS), Terry Dougay (Albany, PE), Dylan Gosbee (Cornwall, PE) and Steve Halpin (Saint John, NB).

As if this wasn't already a recipe for a great season kick off, fans will also see Maritime racing veteran Cy Harvey team up with Scott Fraser Racing (SFR) to drive SFR's No. 23 in a three-race deal, starting this Sunday. The SFR car Harvey will drive was built by the late Scott Fraser and until recently was on display at the Maritime Motorsports Hall of Fame in New Brunswick.

The Maritime League of Legends will kick off the show with a 50 lap feature prior to the CARQUEST 100

Advanced tickets for the CARQUEST 100 are available at Ticket Atlantic outlets (Atlantic Superstores), by phone 902.451.1221 or Tickets will also be available at the gate on race day (cash only). Admission for the CARQUEST 100 is $25.00 for adults, $5.00 for youth (8-15 years old); pit admission is $30.00. Children 7 and under are admitted for free. All children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult. Must be 16 years or older for pit access.

Visit for complete event details.


#0 - Shawn Turple - Enfield, NS

#01 – Robbie MacLean – Charlottetown, PE

#02 – Mike MacKenzie – Dartmouth, NS

#03 – Steve Halpin,- Saint John, NB

#1 - Dave Heino - Barrington, NS

#4 - Mike Stevens - Riverview, NB

#5 – Jonathan Hicken – Brudenell, PE

#8 - Kent Vincent - Westmoreland, PE

#9 - Brad Brown – Halifax, NS

#11 - Marty Prevost – Fall River, NS

#13- Cassius Clark – Farmington, ME

#14 – Terry Dougay – Albany, PE

#15 – Frankie Fraser – Shubenacadie, NS

#18 - Darren Mackinnon - Charlottetown, PE

#21 - Shawn Pierce - Bridgewater, NS

#23 - Cy Harvey – Elmsdale, NS

#24 – Steve Ross – Waverly, NS

#29 - Greg Proude - Springvale, PE

#35 – Brad Mann – Glen Livet, NB

#45 - Leonard Boutilier – Dutch Settlement, NS

#52 - Shawn Tucker - Fredericton, NB

#66 - Daryl Mahar - Hubley, NS

#72 – Brad Eddy – Lower Sackville, NS

#80 - Roger Miller - Kennetcook, NS

#88 – George Koszkulics – New Glasgow, NS

#89 – Donald Chisholm – Antigonish, NS

#91 – Dylan Gosbee – Cornwall, PE

#97 - John Flemming - Halifax, NS

#98 - Jerome Kehoe – Sydney, NS

#99 - Craig Slaunwhite - Terence Bay, NS

From Tara Foster
Last modified on Thursday, 17 May 2012 20:18
back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries