South Buxton Raceway Set for May 4 Opener

South Buxton Raceway Set for May 4 Opener

Written by  on Tuesday, 30 April 2013 16:55

Merlin, ON- The green flag waves on the 2013 season at South Buxton Raceway on Saturday, May 4. Five divisions of dirt stock car racing will run at South Buxton every Saturday night through the end of September.

Blenheim's Shawn Jones will be back to defend his three-year reign as Tirecraft Mini-Mod division champion.

Shrewsbury's Jim Dale Jr., in the Schinkels Gourmet Meats UMP Modifieds, and Merlin's Eren Vanderiviere in the Windride Transportation Sport Stocks, are both two-time defending division champs going into the new season while Chatham's Gregg Haskell won his first Late Model points title last season.

Dale Jr. was the only 2012 points champion to also win his class's season championship race.

Tyler Lozon, of Dover Centre, won the Sport Stocks championship race while Cottam's Rob Quick won the Comp 4 and Brandon Thirlby, of Traverse City, Mich., won the Late Model.

The fifth class will be the Bombers, rookie drivers in compact cars which ran last year for the first time on a smaller infield course.

The 22-race date schedule includes three Sprint Car series events.

The Can-Am Wingless Sprints will be at South Buxton on June 15, followed a week later by the Patriots' Canadian mid-season championships. A third Sprint night will be part of a Civic Holiday weekend doubleheader.

The Southwestern Ontario Tractor Pullers Association rolls into South Buxton for its fifth annual Tractor Pull on Friday, Aug. 2, with the Sprint show the following night. A special two-night admission package will be available for the two events.

South Buxton is also hosting the TUSAC Canadian West Mod-Lites on June 22 and a UMP Modified Super Show on July 6.

Admission prices on regular race nights remain unchanged -$12 adults (ages 17-59), $10 senior (60-over) and teens (ages 13-16) and $5 children (ages 6-12) while kids 5 and under are free. Prices vary on special event nights.

The grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m. with racing starting at 7 p.m. every Saturday night.

For more information, visit the track web site

By Mike Bennett


back to top

Recent Galleries View All Galleries