Related articles

April racing schedule at Merrittville scrubbed due to lockdown

THOROLD, ON – On April 1, the Ontario government imposed a province-wide 28-day 'emergency brake' because of a rise in cases of COVID-19 throughout the province. This announcement caused Merrittville Speedway to cancel its events throughout the month of April and pause the start of the 70th season of racing at the Thorold, Ontario facility.

Friday, 02 April 2021 10:48 Published in Breaking News

Introducing the Knights of Thunder Sprint Car Series

(March 9, 2021) – A brand new touring 360 Sprint Car series is set to ride into Eastern Canada this season! The Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car Series has 27 races spread across seven tracks on the 2021 calendar, with several live streaming broadcasts planned on GForceTV.

Tuesday, 09 March 2021 10:28 Published in Breaking News

Merrittville Speedway Race Recap For September 26, 2020

THOROLD, ONTARIO (September 26, 2020) ... Gary Lindberg from Ridgeway, Ontario picked up his third win of the season in the S&W Service Centre 358 Modifieds.

Sunday, 27 September 2020 07:28 Published in Results & Points

Merrittville Speedway report, results and gallery for September 18-19, 2020

THOROLD, ONTARIO (September 18, 2020) ... Jordan Poirier from St. Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec picked up the win in the 360 Sprint Cars at Merrittville Speedway on Friday night.

Monday, 21 September 2020 07:50 Published in Results & Points

Merrittville Speedway Report and Results - September 12, 2020

THOROLD, ONTARIO – Ohsweken, Ontario’s Aaron Turkey scored the win as the 360 Sprint Cars returned to Merrittville Speedway on Saturday, September 12.

Tuesday, 15 September 2020 21:09 Published in Results & Points

Mitch Brown, Brad Rouse, Dave Bailey, Kyle Rothwell, and Josh Dmytrow score Merrittville wins

THOROLD, ONTARIO (August 29, 2020) … Brantford, Ontario’s Mitch Brown scored the win in the 360 Sprint Cars as the “Winged Warriors” made their second appearance of the season at the Merrittville Speedway on Saturday night. Past track champion Brad Rouse from St. Catharines, Ontario picked up the win in the Rick’s Delivery DIRTcar Sportsman. Dave Bailey returned to victory lane in the Hoosier Stocks. Welland, Ontario’s Kyle Rothwell picked up the win in the Central Fabricating/Glo & Go Tanning 4 Cylinder Mini Stocks. Josh Dmytrow picked up another win in the James’ Auto V6.

Tuesday, 01 September 2020 11:23 Published in Results & Points

Williamson, Friesen, Lampman, Sliter, Rothwell, and Couture earn Merrittville wins

THOROLD, ONTARIO (August 22, 2020) – 2018 S&W Service Centre 358 Modified track champion and 2019 Super DIRTcar Series champion Mat Williamson from St. Catharines, Ontario returned home and returned to victory lane as Merrittville Speedway hosted a full Bobcat of Hamilton Weekly Racing Series program Saturday night.

Monday, 24 August 2020 13:04 Published in Results & Points

Merrittville Speedway Race Results- August 8, 2020

THOROLD, ONTARIO (August 8, 2020) ... Reigning S&W Service Centre 358 Modified track champion Gary Lindberg from Ridgeway, Ontario won the main event as the mighty Modifieds headlined the August 8th racing program at the historic Merrittville Speedway Saturday night. Lindberg found the winning line on the final restart to claim the victory. Rob Murray of St. Catharines won a battle of former track champions in the Hoosier Stock feature. Ridgeway, Ontario’s Josh Sliter found victory lane again in the Rona Doidge Building Centres Mod Lites. Rob Goulding of Port Colborne won the Central Fabricating/Glo & Go 4 Cylinders, with Welland, Ontario’s Josh Dmytrow winning in the James’ Auto & Speed V6’s.

The S & W Service Centre 358 Modified feature saw Tyler Willard start on the pole with “Mr. Small Block” Pete Bicknell to his outside. Gary Lindberg made the most of his third-place starting spot to get the lead from Willard early. After multiple restarts with Willard to his outside, Lindberg lined up alongside Bicknell and was able to drive away, finding speed on the bottom line in 1 & 2, while running the top in 3 & 4. Willard would settle for second, while Mike Bowman drove from 13th starting position to finish third. Pete Bicknell and Fred Carleton rounded out the top Five.

Barry Beck and last week’s winner Dave Bailey lead the field to green in Hoosier Stock action. However, it was another defending track champion starting third on the grid in Rob Murray who would capture the victory. Bailey led early with Murray on his bumper for multiple laps. Eventually, Murray was able to slide by on the inside and take the win over Bailey, Donny Lampman, Ryan Beagle, and Steve Shaw Sr.

Defending track champions winning was a common theme as Josh Sliter won on Saturday night in the RONA/Doidge Building Centres Modified Lites. Sliter, who started from pole, was strong early but Jeffery May began to reel him in halfway through the race, gaining .2 seconds per lap on the leader before a caution. On the restart, Sliter was able to drive away from May and hold him off to win on back-to-back Saturdays at Merrittville Speedway.

In the Central Fabricating/Glo & Go Tanning 4 Cylinder event, Austin Werstroh controlled most of the race, leading Rob Goulding, Leroy Buscumb and Jay Moulton. However, several cautions never gave Werstroh the chance to get away from the pack. Goulding eventually got by Werstroh, whose front-end bodywork was damaged and may have affected his car. Goulding held off Buscumb to take the checkers driving for Jay Moulton.

Pontiac power propelled Josh Dmytrow to victory lane in the James Auto and Speed V6’s. Rick Beales started from the pole and was strong early, with Dmytrow starting to his outside. In the end, it would be Dmytrow who was able to take the lead and hold off a charging John Couture late to get the win.

Fans are encouraged to keep up to date with all the schedules and if any changes are needed by following Merrittville on social media including Facebook (, Twitter (@Merrittville), and now on Instagram (@merrittvillespeedway).

For results, point standings, and more, check out


Sunday, 09 August 2020 15:17 Published in Results & Points

Merrittville Returns to Saturday Night Racing

THOROLD, ONTARIO (August 1, 2020) ... Port Colborne, Ontario’s Greg Panunte survived a barrage of restarts to claim the victory in the Rick’s Delivery DIRTcar Sportsman feature Saturday night at Merrittville Speedway.

Sunday, 02 August 2020 18:52 Published in Results & Points

Mat Williamson, Jordan Poirier, Rob Murray score Sunday night wins at Merrittville

THOROLD, ONTARIO - 2018 divisional champion and reigning Big Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series champion Mat Williamson from St. Catharines, Ontario scored the win in the S&W Service Centre 358 Modifieds as part of Operation Green Flag at the Merrittville Speedway on Sunday, July 26.

Tuesday, 28 July 2020 12:59 Published in Results & Points

Page 1 of 19