2017 Peterborough Speedway track champions (left to right) Jeremy Kelly, Tyler Betts, Tim Burke, Anthony DiBello and Jim Townsend (accepting for Noel Snow) 2017 Peterborough Speedway track champions (left to right) Jeremy Kelly, Tyler Betts, Tim Burke, Anthony DiBello and Jim Townsend (accepting for Noel Snow) Morgan Amber Photography

Awards Banquet Closes Peterborough Speedway’s 50th Anniversary Season

Written by  Jim Clarke on Sunday, 03 December 2017 21:15

PETERBOROUGH, ON (December 3, 2017)- One of the most celebrated seasons in the history of Peterborough Speedway saw its final curtain Saturday, December 2 as drivers and teams gathered at The Ranch Resort in Bethany, Ontario to mark the conclusion of the 50th anniversary campaign of Canada’s Toughest 1/3-Mile Paved Oval.

Track owner and promoter J.P. Josiasse welcomed everyone with his annual State of the Speedway address, acknowledging the contributions of racers, sponsors and staff for the venue’s success during the 2017 schedule.

Point fund awards were presented, with Jeremy Kelly once again acknowledged as the champion in the Battlefield Equipment Rental 4Fun division. Keith Parkes was named the field’s most sportsmanlike driver, with Jake Kelly’s #8 taking best appearing car. Rob Crick – who scored a main event win during the year – was rookie of the year and most improved driver.

In the Jiffy Lube Mini Stock field, endurance racing graduate Noel Snow took the honours for his first-place finish and was also named the division’s rookie of the year. The most sportsmanlike driver award went to Kevin Strutt, who also had his #34 machine voted best appearing car. George Novis was named most improved driver.

Tim Burke accepted the hardware for his championship in the Trent Lakes Complete Plumbing Renegade Truck field. Stacy Switzer – who picked-up her first career feature win in 2017 – was named the most sportsmanlike driver. Switzer also took the class best appearing truck award. Rookie of the year and most improved driver honours went to Carrson Hennessy.

After a season away from the track, Anthony DiBello returned in 2017 to take his third Thunder Car title in four years. Tommy Podd took home the most sportsmanlike driver honour. The year’s best appearing car was the #08 of Paul Boundy, with James Townsend taking rookie of the year and Tyler Bouillon named most improved driver.

He was close over the last couple of seasons, but 2017 saw Tyler Betts earn his first Organics & Glass Late Model track championship. In memory of Terry Calvert, Betts was again named most sportsmanlike driver. Former track champion Dan McHattie’s #71 was named best appearing car, while Steve Powell took the rookie of the year and most improved driver prizes.

Peterborough Speedway officials would like to thank Dart Heating & Air Conditioning, Great Canadian RV, Pepsi, Lucas Oil, Kawartha Outdoor Décor, Battlefield Equipment Rentals, Trent Lakes Complete Plumbing, Hoosier, Reinhart Trailers and other local businesses for their support during the 2017 season.

Bullring bullet points: The track will hold its annual driver’s meeting – Sunday, December 10th – at the Best Western Otonabee Inn, on Landsdowne Street East in Peterborough. Details can be found on the track’s web-site.

Full off-season news and information is always available at www.peterboroughspeedway.com and by checking the track’s Facebook page or Twitter feed. Fans can also download the free speedway app for their Smartphone.


Prepared by: Jim Clarke, Clarke Motorsports Communications/First Draft Media
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., www.facebook.com/clarkemotorsports


back to top